Did the new FAQ contain a stealth predator nerf?

By nikk whyte, in X-Wing

Recently, the FAQ was changed to read that attacks that say perform this attack twice are considered a single solitary attack. Your tlt's, your clusters, they're single attacks now.

That in mind, can you use predator on both rolls? further, in the case of recon specialist, can you use a focus token on both parts of the attack?

The FAQ only affects abilities that trigger "after attacking" or "after defending". There are still two separate Modify Attack Dice steps and Predator (and focus tokens) can be used in each Modify Attack Dice step once.

Yes, you can Predator both attacks. Yes, you can spend focus for both. They are not "one single attack". They are two attacks, for which many of the standard steps are skipped at the end of the first attack and the start of the second.

Recently, the FAQ was changed to read that attacks that say perform this attack twice are considered a single solitary attack. Your tlt's, your clusters, they're single attacks now.

That in mind, can you use predator on both rolls? further, in the case of recon specialist, can you use a focus token on both parts of the attack?

Yes, you can. The timing window for the use of Predator is "Attacker Modifies Attack Dice" (Step 3.ii), which happens twice, so Once per Opportunity doesn't prevent you from using it for both subattacks.

Edited by digitalbusker

Nothing to see here, move along.

Misinterpretation, thanks for clearing it up guys.