Someone break this silly combo

By Rakaydos, in X-Wing

Hey now, this isnt a genaral Norra thread, we'vego like 3 other threads for that.

How aboult something else with similar triggers?

Jek-porkins.png Predator.png R3-a2.png

Declare target, receve stress, remove stress, roll attack die for prkens damage, and reroll any actual damage.

I dont think R5-K works that way, same with if you had Lone Wolf on Norra....since Flight Instructor says when defending. R5-K6 isnt a defense roll. And Lone Wolf is regarding attacking or defending, again not doing either with the droid.

New timing FAQ says otherwise.

When Attacking, it applies to all rolls. When Defending, it applies to all rolls. Including rolls (within those steps) for cards like R5K9 that make a roll in those steps.

I'm not sure I get that - where does it say that?

Lets double down on the sillyness!

R5-K6.png

Pretty sure "modify Defence Dice" is still "While defending". so the droid would get flight instructor reroll as well.

Well, that me mechanic applies to prob. of getting a free tl, not defending so you at not adding a evade when you defend as you are not at the roll defense die step of an attack.

Hey now, this isnt a genaral Norra thread, we'vego like 3 other threads for that.

How aboult something else with similar triggers?

Jek-porkins.png Predator.png R3-a2.png

Declare target, receve stress, remove stress, roll attack die for prkens damage, and reroll any actual damage.

Doesn't work that way. Predator only triggers when attacking. Porkins isn't attacking when rolling for his ability

Hey now, this isnt a genaral Norra thread, we'vego like 3 other threads for that.

How aboult something else with similar triggers?

Jek-porkins.png Predator.png R3-a2.png

Declare target, receve stress, remove stress, roll attack die for prkens damage, and reroll any actual damage.

Doesn't work that way. Predator only triggers when attacking. Porkins isn't attacking when rolling for his ability

Exactly, the rolling of the die has nothing to do with the attack, on a easy way to throwing chance into getting an ability, such as the scum cloaking device too.

Edited by Amraam01

My point is that "when attacking" and "when defending" are timing windows now, not simply the act of rolling dice.

When you spend a TL, R5K6 triggers. It doesnt wait until the attack is over, so it is dice rolled while attacking/while defending, depending how its used.

By the same token, receving a stress from Rebel Captive or stressbot triggers Porkens ability during the attack.

These are the dice rolled while attacking or while defending. If you have upgrades that can modify dice in those steps, you should be able to do so.

I think that's a very generous interpretation of both the rules and the wording on the cards.

My point is that "when attacking" and "when defending" are timing windows now, not simply the act of rolling dice.

When you spend a TL, R5K6 triggers. It doesnt wait until the attack is over, so it is dice rolled while attacking/while defending, depending how its used.

By the same token, receving a stress from Rebel Captive or stressbot triggers Porkens ability during the attack.

These are the dice rolled while attacking or while defending. If you have upgrades that can modify dice in those steps, you should be able to do so.

No, the R5K6 has to be resolved before you continue. The 'evade' results does not persist for any other reason other than giving you a TL back. Think of it as a mini side loop that is resolved before you continue.

Porkins ability clearly is not during the attack, it is when you receive stress and not part of the attack steps. Again it is only a mechanism to add chance for an ability to trigger. Nothing more.

I think that's a very generous interpretation of both the rules and the wording on the cards.

Perhaps it is. But it only makes underpowered cards more usable, so I dont see any reason to reject it out of hand.

I think that's a very generous interpretation of both the rules and the wording on the cards.

Perhaps it is. But it only makes underpowered cards more usable, so I dont see any reason to reject it out of hand.

Because it's clearly not how it's supposed to work?

I think that's a very generous interpretation of both the rules and the wording on the cards.

Perhaps it is. But it only makes underpowered cards more usable, so I dont see any reason to reject it out of hand.

Because it's clearly not how it's supposed to work?

Since when has that stopped anyone ever?

This entire topic is for "what harm could it possibly do?"

You are clearly using a timing window to game the system, and are purposely abusing the rules, those arent attack rolls, nor are they defense rolls. They happen to happen at the same time as those roll, but arent actually attack or defense.

I highly doubt FFG intended those to interact that way.

You are clearly using a timing window to game the system, and are purposely abusing the rules, those arent attack rolls, nor are they defense rolls. They happen to happen at the same time as those roll, but arent actually attack or defense.

I highly doubt FFG intended those to interact that way.

What the designers intended for rule interactions and card texts is not always how the community accepts it or even technically correct. R4 aggro being case and point where the designers appear to have intended it to make Blaster Turret more usable; then with the rules update in the TFA Core Set it was shown to technically not work that way, but everyone ignored that (because we all know that Blast Turret needs all the help it can get) until the FAQ made it clear that this would no longer be allowed in official matches.

So, in a similar vein, I wouldn't fault someone for using this interpretation, based on the timing window FAQ update, to buff up a card no one uses.

If I TO'd a tournament and someone brought this, and explained it with the appropriate material, I would allow it (barring an update that specifically rules against it)