Question regarding "search for ..." and Vilya

By Gandalf196, in Rules questions & answers

This question has just popped up last night while I was playing:

Suppose I play Bilbo Baggins :

" Response: After Bilbo Baggins enters play, search your deck for a Pipe attachment and add it to your hand. Shuffle your deck."

Does this mean that I can choose ANY card that has this trait (Pipe), e.g. Wizard Pipe, or must I pick the first one that shows up during the search?

142006.png

Also, not related to this first question, another doubt emerged. Regarding Vilya, what is the difference between "Play" and "Put into play"? It seems to me that the card gives the player an option to CHOOSE between these two ways of playing a card, it is not worded so to differentiate between allies/attachment, which can be both played and put into play, and events, which cannot be put into play, only played (so, it is, from my perspective, related to HOW you play the top card of your deck and NOT WHAT you play). Am I correct?

04137.png

1) You may choose any qualifying card that you find in your search for Pipes.

2) The distinction on Vilya exists because you don't put Events into play, you play them.

1) You may choose any qualifying card that you find in your search for Pipes.

2) The distinction on Vilya exists because you don't put Events into play, you play them.

2) So, you mean that I cannot play allies/attachments through Vilya, but only put them into play?

1) You may choose any qualifying card that you find in your search for Pipes.

2) The distinction on Vilya exists because you don't put Events into play, you play them.

2) So, you mean that I cannot play allies/attachments through Vilya, but only put them into play? [/size]

That, I am sad to say, is correct. (So you can't trigger, e.g., West Road Traveller's effect.)

1) You may choose any qualifying card that you find in your search for Pipes.

2) The distinction on Vilya exists because you don't put Events into play, you play them.

2) So, you mean that I cannot play allies/attachments through Vilya, but only put them into play?[/size]

That, I am sad to say, is correct. (So you can't trigger, e.g., West Road Traveller's effect.)

Ok, but what's the reason behind this? Could it be that "play" refers only to the action of taking a card out of your HAND and placing it into the game? But this contradicts West Road Traveller's response, which explicitly states: " you PLAY West Road Traveller from YOUR HAND"

Edited by Gandalf196

Ok, but what's the reason behind this? Could it be that "play" refers only to the action of taking a card out of your HAND and placing it into the game? But this contradicts West Road Traveller's response, which explicitly states: " you PLAY West Road Traveller from YOUR HAND" [/size]

I may have chosen a less than ideal example: Caleb did clarify with an official ruling that all allies/attachments are put into play with Vilya, not played. There is no choice in the matter. So Erebor Hammersmith, whose text does not mention "from your hand", still cannot be triggered when Vilya'ed in. There is a forum thread on this that I would link if I weren't on mobile and the search function wasn't so anemic, heh.

Anyway, I asked Caleb:

You can search your deck for any attachment with the Pipe trait, including the Wizard Pipe.
With regard to Vilya, the language of “play” vs “put into play” is there to allow you to play events from the top of your deck because events cannot be “put into play.” But if you have an ally or attachment on top of your deck, then you would put it into play with Vilya.
Cheers,
Caleb

If you oplay Heed the dream with Villya, do you also get to play the 3 Leadershiop resources ability for free? Vilya says that you can ''play the card for no cost'', and for me, the 3 Leadership resources are part of the card...

Edited by Lecitadin

1) You may choose any qualifying card that you find in your search for Pipes.

2) The distinction on Vilya exists because you don't put Events into play, you play them.

2) So, you mean that I cannot play allies/attachments through Vilya, but only put them into play?

But Bilbo says ''when he enters play'', if it's from your hand or by a card effect, it makes no difference, I use is ability if I put him into play with Vilya.

Edited by Lecitadin

If you oplay Heed the dream with Villya, do you also get to play the 3 Leadershiop resources ability for free? Vilya says that you can ''play the card for no cost'', and for me, the 3 Leadership resources are part of the card...

I am once again on mobile, but I believe Caleb also clarified at some point that the "at no cost" applies specifically to the resource cost in the corner of the card, not to anything else. (I think things like Skyward Volley were being questioned...?) Would be great if someone could confirm that, though.

If you oplay Heed the dream with Villya, do you also get to play the 3 Leadershiop resources ability for free? Vilya says that you can ''play the card for no cost'', and for me, the 3 Leadership resources are part of the card...

I am once again on mobile, but I believe Caleb also clarified at some point that the "at no cost" applies specifically to the resource cost in the corner of the card, not to anything else. (I think things like Skyward Volley were being questioned...?) Would be great if someone could confirm that, though.

The ruling was that Vilya also allows you to play Skyward Volley without having to have a ranged character. I also believe he mentioned a distinction between costs like Skyward Volley's and costs like "Do X to Y".

Seastan posed the following questions:

1. Can Vilya be used to play an event, like Galadhrim's Greeting, if you do not have access to the spirit sphere (I know a match is required for 0 cost cards, but Vilya says " no cost" so I'm wondering if that is a key difference)?
​2. Does Vilya ignore the "additional costs" of cards like Skyward Volley?
3. Does Vilya ignore payment restrictions of cards like Thicket of Spears?
4. Does Vilya ignore requirements to be able to play a card like Ent Draught (since you can "put into play" the card instead of "playing" it)?
5. Does Vilya ignore costs on cards that have a built-in cost in the form " cost to effect " phrase like Quick Strike? If so, how does Quick Strike work if you have not exhausted a character?

1. Yes. There is actually an FAQ enter for Vilya in the Q&A section that basically says playing a card at “no cost” does not require a resource match.

2. Yes. “At no cost” encompasses the additional cost because it is described as a “cost."
3. Yes. Since you are playing Thicket of Spears at no cost, there is no need to pay for it, and therefore no need to spend resources from 3 different heroes’ pools.
4. Yes. The play restriction on Ent Draught is irrelevant because you are putting it into play, not playing it.
5. No. Vilya allows you to ignore resource match and printed cost with its ability (and anything that is described as “an additional cost”), but it does not allow you to trigger effects without paying their ‘cost’ because these ‘costs’ are not what Vilya refers to. The term ‘cost’ as used in the expression “cost to effect” is not a formal cost, like the kind that Vilya can ignore; they are an informal ‘cost.’ We only call them costs to help players understand that you must do whatever that thing is in order to receive the benefit of the effect. You can think of the difference between ‘costs’ here like big “C” costs and little ‘c’ costs, similar to big ‘A’ Actions and little ‘a’ actions in the game.
I hope that helps.
Cheers,
Caleb

Edited by cmabr002

Vilya ignore all the cost, but this additional "pay 3 leadership ressource" things is part of the effect and is not part of the cost.

Vilya ignore all the cost, but this additional "pay 3 leadership ressource" things is part of the effect and is not part of the cost.

Ok. But still, Villya kicks ass.

Still works for any "when x enters play" effects such as Gandalf, Naith Guide, Orophin, Gwahir, Saruman, Lindir, Mablung, Miner of the Iron hills, Envoy of Pelargir, Galadhrim Minstrel, Galadhon Archer, Galadhrim Healer, Galadriel's Handmaiden and many others.