i'm torn would this Grav Shift Re-Route move the obstacle and the token? Grav Shift says you can't overlap tokens but the way Dangerous Territory works is you can only get the token when you overlap an obstacle, so i would think the token moves when you shift the obstacle, because the token is just a place holder until first ship overlaps said obstacle right?
Dangerous Territory and Interdictor Grav Shift Re-Route
Yes I think it would because the tokens are placed on top of the Obstacles and you have to overlap the obstacle not the token
I agree.
If Clontroper5 isn't correct it would make them very powerful in this scenario, in effect making several of those objectives on the non interdictor player's side of the board unattainable.
This is an interesting conundrum.
The official answer, and I'm rather surprised at this, is "no." In fact, if Grav Shift is used, the obstacles must be moved far enough that they are no longer overlapping the tokens if they are moved at all.
The reason for this is that "obstacles cannot overlap tokens, obstacles, or ships." And per the Golden Rule, when an upgrade card uses the word "cannot" that effect is absolute.
This is an interesting conundrum.
The official answer, and I'm rather surprised at this, is "no." In fact, if Grav Shift is used, the obstacles must be moved far enough that they are no longer overlapping the tokens if they are moved at all.
The reason for this is that "obstacles cannot overlap tokens, obstacles, or ships." And per the Golden Rule, when an upgrade card uses the word "cannot" that effect is absolute.
At which point... You cannot claim those Obstacles as Objectives anymore, because their token is not on them, so overlapping them doesn't remove the token that is on them ... ?
Officially , no answer has been given. We can surmise the answer based on the golden rule, for sure... But its not official until FFG says so.
Edited by Drasnighta
Didnt they use this very one in the interdictor release information?
"After using your grav shift token to draw the obstacles and objective points toward you, you can score them in the first round by charging full speed ahead with your
Interdictor
and a ship like the Imperial Raider."
https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2016/6/28/the-interdictor/
Would that not make it official?
And given that FFG Interdictor article specifically mentions Dangerous Territory and Grav-Shift Reroute interaction, I would expect FAQ update that will make exception for Dangerous Territory Tokens to force them to move together with asteroid.
So here's the issue: you don't put objective points on the obstacles. You put objective tokens on the obstacles. And you do this before obstacles are moved. Once you move obstacles, the tokens cannot overlap the obstacles per the Grav Shift card.
This seems likely to get an errata, probably to the timing of placing the tokens on the obstacles.
As for preview demonstrations, never trust them to be 100% accurate. They aren't being written by the game designers, and they may not be using the finalized card text when the examples are thought up. This is one of the reasons why so many preview articles seem to use terrible fleet designs, they're trying to increase sales more than show off the new cards. Previously we've seen mistakes made in effect timing, token usage, and damage assignment. When you look for these mistakes you'll see it happens every few articles.
I completely agree, this 100% needs an errata.
Because we can either follow the Rules by the Letter, in which case... We Shift the Obstacles, and the Objective Tokens are Left Behind.... And those Obstacles can never be claimed, because you gain the objective points
when you overlap an obstacle and remove the Token that is ON that obstacle
.......
Or we don't follow the rules, and allow the Token to be pulled along with the Obstacle, as per the preview - which, again, I completely agree - can't be followed as rules... And if we're not following that rule, what other rules do we chose not to follow?
Certainly a time when the strict reading breaks the game in such a way that it can't really be played 'fairly' anymore.
Edited by DrasnightaYes I think it would because the tokens are placed on top of the Obstacles and you have to overlap the obstacle not the token
I agree with clontroper5, placing tokens on the obstacles is just a way to track which ones have been overlapped
. technically we would keep the tokens on the side and right down which obstacle had been overlapped, then when one gets overlapped you get the token, i'm just illustrating his point to another degree. the tokens mean nothing it is the overlap of the obstacle.
Now, now, are you going to advocate
common sense
in a
Rules
discussion?
Because that's totally bad form, right there........
(Honestly, I agree with the intent that's posted in the article, and in the rules system that won't break the game - but as a Rules discussion, its irrelevent unless the rules support it, with FAQ or Errata)
Why would you NOT move the objective tokens when you move the obstacles PLACED ON TOP OF THEM, FOR THE SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF SCORDING VPS!????
Djeez, I'm starting to loathe the Rules sub-forum...later.
Why would you NOT move the objective tokens when you move the obstacles PLACED ON TOP OF THEM, FOR THE SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF SCORDING VPS!????
Djeez, I'm starting to loathe the Rules sub-forum...later.
Let's get one thing out of the way: Dangerous Territory should 100% work that way. I'm certain that it is the intended result.
That said, the current straight rules reference guide is 100% the opposite of that. It's clearly in need of an Errata, and the Errata will simply be a change in the timing of when you place the objective tokens to be after you move them obstacles around. Done, easy, and doesn't change the end result.
For what it's worth, the other entertaining idea I had is to place obstacles close enough together that you can reposition the objective tokens to all be touching a single obstacle, grabbing them all at the same time by running it over.
Now THAT would be a fun stunt to try at Worlds.
I know this is old question, but I was thinking about using Interdictor and I've noticed that it's actually has been answered some time ago. So, from FAQ:
QuoteGrav Shift Reroute:
If an obstacle with an objective token placed on it during the setup of Dangerous Territory is moved with this effect, that objective token remains on that obstacle.