Questions: Multiple Lieutenants, Seiging & Razing

By Chirisophus, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Here is the situation. Overlord is Demon Prince (HQ: Crimson Forest) and city being seiged is Nerekhall (one trail length away). At start of overlords turn he has Alric Farrow & his demon lieutenant seige the town bringing the total seige counters on the town to 3. The heroes then move into Nerekhall.

Question One: can the heroes battle one lieutenant then the other in the same game week? Or can they only attack one lieutenant per week even if multiple lieutenants in one square? Also do they choose who to attack (my interpretation was yes, based on the fact that they can choose whether to attack at all).

Now we will assume the heroes cause Farrow to flee back to Crimson Forest and can only attack one lieutenant per turn. At the start of the overlords next turn he moves Farrow back into Nerekhall and a fourth seige token is added due to other lieutenants presence. Heroes go and cause one of the lieutenants to flee. At the start of the next turn there is an opportunity for nerekhall to be razed. The other lieutenant moves in. The heroes cause one of the lieutenants to flee. Next turn proceeds the same way. Seems there is an infinite loop going on here that the overlord can keep up until he succeeds on a raze roll. Is there something I am missing?

Obviously is the heroes can attack more than one lieutenant per turn this is not an issue. (In reality the heroes killed Farrow so there is only the one lieutenant left so the infinite loop described above cannot continue anyways - but the potential situation was there).

Any help on this issue would be appreciated.

The heroes can attack both LTs separately (and in any order) on their turn. The only thing preventing them from attacking the 2nd (or 3rd etc..) LT would be if there is a Total Party Kill, in which case the Party's week action is ended.

OOPS! Double Post!

Is there a rules reference for attacking two lieutenants. I went through RtL rulebook and official FAQ and couldn't find anything specifically addressing multiple lieutenants. My understanding is that the rules more or less say 'if the heroes end their movement in the same space as a lieutenant figure they may choose to attack that figure'. Is there something elsewhere?

From the FAQ:

Q: What happens when there are multiple lieutenants in
the same space as the hero party? If the heroes (or the
overlord) choose to attack, are both lieutenants present at
the same encounter?


A: Each lieutenant is an entire encounter unto himself. If
the heroes choose to attack a lieutenant when there are two
or more lieutenants in the same space, they must choose
one to encounter. The overlord may attack the hero party
with one lieutenant at a time. Only if the heroes are still in
the same location at the end of the encounter (if the heroes
win or the lieutenant flees, or if the space in question is
Tamalir) can the next lieutenant attack.

Q: If the heroes flee from a lieutenant, may they
immediately encounter that lieutenant again?
A: No.

The example is for when a lieutenant attacks the hero party, so it's not quite the same. It makes sense that each lieutenant can attack separately since they both get turns to move independantly. It mentions that if the heroes choose to attack they must choose one to encounter, but doesn't say what they can do after the attack. The other question says they can't immediately encounter the same lieutenant again, which almost makes me think that they can encounter a different lieutenant immediately. I can see it going either way since it doesn't explicitly say you can have two encounters in one week, but personally I would play it so that the heroes have the chance to attack every lieutenant on a space just like the overlord can attack with every lieutenant on the same space as the heroes.

I could have sworn this was stated specifically someplace. That yes heroes can attack as many Lts as they want as long as they win the battle.

In the 'Gathered list of answered questions' the question was apparently answered. I must have missed it before making this post. It does state that heroes can attack multiple lieutenants in the same square, but it also mentions they can visit the town. I am assuming this is a typo and they can only restock in town. Unless it was meant that if they start in the same square as a lieutenant they can fight and visit town, but if they are moving they should only be able to restock in town.

In the 'Gathered list of answered questions' the question was apparently answered. I must have missed it before making this post. It does state that heroes can attack multiple lieutenants in the same square, but it also mentions they can visit the town. I am assuming this is a typo and they can only restock in town. Unless it was meant that if they start in the same square as a lieutenant they can fight and visit town, but if they are moving they should only be able to restock in town.

Chirisophus said:

In the 'Gathered list of answered questions' the question was apparently answered. I must have missed it before making this post. It does state that heroes can attack multiple lieutenants in the same square, but it also mentions they can visit the town. I am assuming this is a typo and they can only restock in town. Unless it was meant that if they start in the same square as a lieutenant they can fight and visit town, but if they are moving they should only be able to restock in town.

Restock is actually only used when returning to town via glyph in a dungeon. The heroes encounter LTs while taking a "move" action and can thus "visit" the town. If the heroes are in a town, then can take a "move action" and just stay at the town, visit and encounter the LTs.

My personal opinion is that they shouldn't be able encounter a LT, visit the town and then encounter another LT in the same town space- either visit then encounter LTs or vice versa.

I remember it as this:

You may fight any and all lieutenants and visit/restock in town in any order the heroes wish. If the heroes flee from combat they cannot fight that lieutenant again.

My suggestion was not that they could attack, visit, attack. I think that is incorrect as well. What I meant (and I might be getting the terminology wrong here), is that after moving into a town space and battling two lieutenants they cannot then 'visit' the town for the purposes of training, they could visit the market, etc. I thought when the term visit was used it was meant to mean a full turn in a town with no movement when training / tavern / etc. options are available.

Right, I don't think that you can attack a lieutenant if you choose to Train.

Chirisophus said:

My suggestion was not that they could attack, visit, attack. I think that is incorrect as well. What I meant (and I might be getting the terminology wrong here), is that after moving into a town space and battling two lieutenants they cannot then 'visit' the town for the purposes of training, they could visit the market, etc. I thought when the term visit was used it was meant to mean a full turn in a town with no movement when training / tavern / etc. options are available.

I think you are describing the "Recuperate/Train" action that the Party can take to spend a week in town using the "Train" portions of the buildings. In order to initiate an encounter with a LT, the Party would need to take a "Move" week action, even if they are at the same town location as the LT. This would allow them to use the "Visit" portions of the buildings.

I just think you have the terms mixed up. The Party can take one of two game week actions:

Move or Train

I believe the only differences concerning town buildings with Train is that you can use the Training grounds and "Recuperate" at the Temple. All the other building actions remain the same as during a "Move" action.