Boosting Sam Gamgee (Part2)

By JanB, in Rules questions & answers

Hi Folks,

we got a new version of Sam Gamdschie (Sam Gamgee) :

Response: After a player raises his threat, that player may spend 1 lotr-icon-spirit.gif resource to ready Sam Gamgee. He gets +1 lotr-icon-wil.gif , +1 lotr-icon-atk.gif and +1 lotr-icon-def.gif until the end of the round. (Limit once per round.)

Is his response once per round per player?

Edited by JanB

It says "that player", so it doesn't really matter, unless you make him Defender of the West and let players use Follow Me!, but I believe you can't.

Edit: I saw that the one who pays the resource is the one that raises threat and not his controller, but still believe you can only activate him once per round.

Edited by 987654321

"Once per round" is really once per round. (It's the "once per game" condition that is per player.)

FAQ 1.51: 'When a card with a triggered effect has a limit on the number of times that effect can be triggered (i.e. “Once per round,” “Limit 3 times per phase,” etc.), the limit is specific to that card. However, if a card has a limit of “once per game,” that limitation is specific to the player who triggered it.'

*looking for the dislike-Button*

Ok .. so it's a small boost .. any ideas what Sam could do after he gets ready + statboost for 1 spirit-ressource?

He could hit a guy for 2 str or most likely die from defending an attack. ;) But he could potentially quest for 3 if you get a doomed card during questing and spend the extra resource. Ultimately, I think he's only going to be used if you are running Frodo and even then his Response ability won't be triggered all that often. only when you need that extra 2 attack to kill something after defending with Frodo.

He could hit a guy for 2 str or most likely die from defending an attack. ;) But he could potentially quest for 3 if you get a doomed card during questing and spend the extra resource. Ultimately, I think he's only going to be used if you are running Frodo and even then his Response ability won't be triggered all that often. only when you need that extra 2 attack to kill something after defending with Frodo.

Yeah, I simply think it is for the flexibility of it. "Oh, I saved a resource for A Test of Will, but there was nothing to cancel? Hey look, I need +1 attack to kill this enemy I had to engage this turn."

Yeah, it's not going to be consistently useful, but I think it has a handful of minor uses:

  • When you need just +1 WP to clear the active location
  • When you need +2 ATK to kill some enemy
  • When you need a chump blocker to avoid losing a hero

I think he's just meant to be all-around useful--you won't be relying on his ability, but he might get you out of the occasional bind.