Gathered List of Answered Questions (Taken from the old Forum)

By jeff.kahan.1, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Big Remy said:

Yeah, that might cause some confusion due to the way its written:

If they had left the word "action" out of that sentence it would worked a lot better.

EDIT : Holy shoot, that didn't take long to get fixed!

More evidence that the FFG staff are paying attention to our questions...or at least mine. I must be special (hehe).

Three answers from the old wiki I think are worth to be preserved:

Q: "Stairwell. Let's say I have a character who can attack with a blast weapon. She is standing on a stairwell and has line of sight to the corresponding stairwell as well as the adjacent spaces. If she fires at one of the adjacent spaces, and gives it a total of Blast 4, does the blast travel back through the strairwell?"

A: Yes


Related Rulebook Paragraphs: ??
Source: Mike Z, http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1132764726

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Q: "Gust of Wind makes the hero's LOS 5 spaces. Does this count for Boggs as well? I guess so, but I'm not sure......"

A: Gust of Wind only effects the Heroes. Boggs is a familar and not a Hero and thus is not effected. Besides, rats can see in the dark.


Related Rulebook Paragraphs: ??
Source: Mike Z, http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1131543107

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Q: "There are three treasures that offer one-time healing to a hero: Jinn's Lamp, Amulet of Healing, and Crystal of Tival. All three say "Discard after equipping at the start of your turn..."... Should "at the start of your turn" just be ignored, or does it have some other significance?"


A: It can only be used at the start of your turn after Step 2: Equip Items. The result is that you will have only 1 Other item (if any) equipped.


Related Rulebook Paragraphs: ??
Source: Mike Z, http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1131406170

Parathion said:

A: It can only be used at the start of your turn after Step 2: Equip Items. The result is that you will have only 1 Other item (if any) equipped.

Wait, so "at the start of your turn" includes times after Step 2: Equip Items? Which means that either Steps 1 and 2 are "before" the start of your turn (which would be pretty hard to justify), or they occur during the start of your turn. And by another official ruling, heroes can choose what order to resolve "start of turn" effects in. Which means they can actually do step 2 before step 1, and they can do either or both before or after other "start of turn" effects, like using a rest order and rolling for effect tokens.

Crap. I'm not sure if that actively sucks in the official game or if I'm just going to have to add it to the list of changes for my mod (where it leads to obvious abuses with several custom items and skills), but that can't possibly be a good idea.

Antistone said:

Parathion said:

A: It can only be used at the start of your turn after Step 2: Equip Items. The result is that you will have only 1 Other item (if any) equipped.

Wait, so "at the start of your turn" includes times after Step 2: Equip Items? Which means that either Steps 1 and 2 are "before" the start of your turn (which would be pretty hard to justify), or they occur during the start of your turn. And by another official ruling, heroes can choose what order to resolve "start of turn" effects in. Which means they can actually do step 2 before step 1, and they can do either or both before or after other "start of turn" effects, like using a rest order and rolling for effect tokens.

Crap. I'm not sure if that actively sucks in the official game or if I'm just going to have to add it to the list of changes for my mod (where it leads to obvious abuses with several custom items and skills), but that can't possibly be a good idea.

I can´t see anything where this can be exploited. I always thought "at the start of your turn" was anything a hero does before declaring his action, giving him free choice of the order by the FAQ answer.

Now the answer above merely says that you can´t use the healing item and re-equip a fresh Other item for free, and that you can´t use the healing item after declaring an action (which was heatedly debated a couple of weeks ago).

Useful. But don´t let us start another discussion here...

Hey everyone;

New to the forums and the board game, I play as the Overlord for a group of locals in my hometown here in Canada. I own the Main boxset "starter" game. "Journeys in the Dark".

My friends and I have some questions.

While Inside a Pit:

If a player is in a terrain alteration [Fell/hopped into a spiked pit] and a monster with the "breath" ability attacks during the overlords turn, does the player in the pit still get hit by the breath? that would normally blow harmlessly overtop of the pit.

Does Blast damage hurt a character in a pit space?

Can a Monster fall inside of a pit if the overlord moves it onto a pit square?

LEVELING UP:

My friends finished the first mission and successfully defeated Narthak, However, by the time they made it to the chamber and killed him 7 hours had gone by, and they all had silver/gold items. By the end of the game, they could mow through the bad guys i placed in front of them effortlessly, doing 10+ Damage with their rolls. When they level up, do they get to keep all of their stats and items and such before moving on to the next mission? Or do you do a new set up for each mission?

How Can the overlord keep the game balanced and fun when the characters are becoming too powerful too quickly and find themselves unchallenged.

My friends found that they reached the full potential of their characters in the first mission, and they were running out of ways to improve upon their characters. I was considering "getting creative" Now and then and having a weapon "break" due to wear, which would have them starting over with a new weapon and such....is that feesable?

Trading items.

Characters standing adjacent to each other can item swap....does it cost movement point to do this?





CanadianCole said:

Hey everyone;

New to the forums and the board game, I play as the Overlord for a group of locals in my hometown here in Canada. I own the Main boxset "starter" game. "Journeys in the Dark".

My friends and I have some questions.

While Inside a Pit:

If a player is in a terrain alteration [Fell/hopped into a spiked pit] and a monster with the "breath" ability attacks during the overlords turn, does the player in the pit still get hit by the breath? that would normally blow harmlessly overtop of the pit.

Does Blast damage hurt a character in a pit space?

Can a Monster fall inside of a pit if the overlord moves it onto a pit square?

LEVELING UP:

My friends finished the first mission and successfully defeated Narthak, However, by the time they made it to the chamber and killed him 7 hours had gone by, and they all had silver/gold items. By the end of the game, they could mow through the bad guys i placed in front of them effortlessly, doing 10+ Damage with their rolls. When they level up, do they get to keep all of their stats and items and such before moving on to the next mission? Or do you do a new set up for each mission?

How Can the overlord keep the game balanced and fun when the characters are becoming too powerful too quickly and find themselves unchallenged.

My friends found that they reached the full potential of their characters in the first mission, and they were running out of ways to improve upon their characters. I was considering "getting creative" Now and then and having a weapon "break" due to wear, which would have them starting over with a new weapon and such....is that feesable?

Trading items.

Characters standing adjacent to each other can item swap....does it cost movement point to do this?





Welcome.

Sorry to start off sounding like a jerk, put try and post questions like this in the regular section of the forum instead of here. We try to keep this thread as free of discussion as we can and just have it be rules answers from the FFG staff.

That being said, let me see if I can help (as always, answers are to the best of my knowledge)

Yes, heroes and figures in pits are still hit by the Breath template. Breath attacks ignore range and obstacles, so it will hit the figure in the pit. Same thing for Blast. And yes a monster who is moved into a pit will suffer one wound ignoring armor.

Heroes do not keep equipment or upgrades going on into the next Quest. The Heroes basically start out fresh for each Quest, however if you play by the campaign rules, the Heroes and OL both get some bonus for the next Quest.

Descent is partly a race to see if the Heroes can collect Conquest tokens faster than the OL can take them away. Trap and Power cards are your best allies in maintaining balance. Especially Evil Genius. Getting that card out fast will help, as the Heroes lose 3CT when you cycle through the deck. Trap cards will help damage those hard to hit melee heroes. Being OL is hard, and sometimes needs a lot of bluffing on your part. There is a good article on being a strong OL on the FFG site.

As for the breakage, not only is it feasible but in one of the expansions there is a card that does exactly that. Buying either Alter of Depair or Well of Darkness will help balance things if you think the Heroes are having an easy time, as the OL gets Treachery will allows him to modify the deck.

Trading items: during his turn, a hero can give another hero an item for 1MP per item. They don't swap as the receiving hero can't give anything back until his turn.

IF I BYE A SKILL CARD FROM TOWN AND WE COMPLETE ONE DUNGEON AT THE NEXT DUNGEON I KEEP THIS SKILL OR NOT?

geogard said:

IF I BUY A SKILL CARD FROM TOWN AND WE COMPLETE ONE DUNGEON AT THE NEXT DUNGEON I KEEP THIS SKILL OR NOT?

geogard said:

IF I BYE A SKILL CARD FROM TOWN AND WE COMPLETE ONE DUNGEON AT THE NEXT DUNGEON I KEEP THIS SKILL OR NOT?

Are you talking about normal Descent (ie not Road to Legend)? No, if you buy a skill during the Quest it does not carry over into the next Quest.

Did anyone save KWs answer regarding the option for the OL to buy one upgrade before the Final Battle in RtL ? I couldn´t find it here or in the FAQ, yet I am 100% certain that ruling was official.

One for the record:


> If a hero plays the Subterfuge Feat Card "Disarm" against an
> "Animate Weapons" trap card and succeeds with the necessary die
> roll, does the Feat Card cancel the Trap Card completely for all
> heros, or just for the hero who played "Disarm" ?

It cancels the entire effect of the Trap card.


-Kevin Wilson
Fantasy Flight Games

Here's an unusual one for the RtL game...

i) Can the "Thief in the Night" encounter card cause a cursed item to be stolen from the hero's equipped items?

ia) What if it were the only item the hero had equipped? (In case the answer is that a normal item is chosen instead of cursed ones)

ib) If a cursed item was stolen, does the curse token that was placed on the hero get removed?

ii) Can a Dark Relic be removed under the same circumstances as a regular cursed item in this situation?

i) cursed items are only special in that they inflict curse tokens. They do not differ in any other way from normal treasure. I don't know what the encounter actually says, but you don't need to consider cursed items when seeing which item or items get stolen.
ia) cursed items are no different from other treasure and do not require special consideration.
ib) no. You can't lose curse tokens by losing cursed items.
ii) Dark Relics cannot be dropped or unequipped. Any other mechanism that could cause item loss can cause a hero to lose a Dark Relic.

Finally, please, this thread is not the place to bring random questions you may have. Please post them to the forums if you desire answers. As Parathion demonstrates, this thread is ostensibly for posting official answers from FFG.

I have a generell question about Descent:

Heroes can take the following actions during their turn

  • Run (2x their normal movement) OR
  • Move & attack OR
  • Attack twice

How can monsters act?
The same way as heroes?
Is there a difference between core Descent and RtL?

Grimzak said:

I have a generell question about Descent:

Heroes can take the following actions during their turn

  • Run (2x their normal movement) OR
  • Move & attack OR
  • Attack twice

How can monsters act?
The same way as heroes?
Is there a difference between core Descent and RtL?

Short answer: Monster can only move and attack, so basically the advance action, and its the same in both core and RtL

Not to be snarky, but this forum thread is reserved for the posting of official answers from FFG. Please post all other questions as separate forum post.

The list in the front says the answers are from Kevin Wilson and Dan Clark, which provokes a couple of questions:

1) Who is Dan Clark? He's listed as a playtester in a few of the rulebooks, but other than that, what makes him a ruling authority?

2) Do the original sources still exist, so the original posts can be viewed (or at least specific answers can be attributed to specific people)?

Thanks!

1) Dan Clark was one of the guys who answered the questions we sent in via the official question asking thingy on the previous iteration of the FFG page. I guess we granted him authority on the fact that he was the one answering the questions: if we start contesting that authority, well, it gets a little complex.

2) Original sources = people's emails/old message board threads that are in the internet archive I guess (Maybe? Wayback machine?). I still have my contribution to this list in my email.

Thanks! Do you know the address of the told site (or a different way to find an archive of it)?

James McMurray said:

Thanks! Do you know the address of the told site (or a different way to find an archive of it)?

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffgforums/forums/show/15.page

That's the descent section of the previous forums. The ones before those.......

www.fantasyflightgames.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=25

I think. Good luck with that, though, the wayback machine apparently wasn't even allowed to read the yabb boards after 2005. Makabriel was the guy maintaining this thread on both of those boards.

I have a problem with the answer on "rage on lieutenants" on the first post . Rage says that the monster has 2 attacks and if it has quickshot so it means that it doubles the attacks a monster has advance (move and attack) by default so i think it should double the attacks for the lieutenant as well.

In this case the card is obviously meant to double the attacks, if the cards were explicit for every situation than you would have A3 or A2 cards probably

Slapul said:

I have a problem with the answer on "rage on lieutenants" on the first post . Rage says that the monster has 2 attacks and if it has quickshot so it means that it doubles the attacks a monster has advance (move and attack) by default so i think it should double the attacks for the lieutenant as well.

In this case the card is obviously meant to double the attacks, if the cards were explicit for every situation than you would have A3 or A2 cards probably

The answer is from official sources; I can't imagine anyone in a better situation to state what a card is "obviously" meant to do.

Aww, look at that. My Q&A still exists :D

If anyone's still wondering, by all means have at it. I intended it to be carried on anyway. Haven't played Descent in quite a long while. Sadly I'm just here to figure out how the !@#$! I can remove my old modules I created so I stop getting emails about them...

Quick question (just for the original JITD)

When a new area is revealed and all the monsters of one type are on the board and they are called for in the new area, does that mean that they OL has the choice whether to move them or just go without them in that room??

Thanks!!

Sea of Blood starting location:

The Sea of Blood rules clearly state that the start-of-campaign location for the Hero party is the city of Gafford .

However, the flavor text on many of the plot cards imply that the starting city for the Heroes is supposed to be the city of Garnott .

Which is the correct starting city?

This is a thread for questions THAT HAVE ALREADY BEEN ANSWERED by people who are associated with the game and have some kind of authority.

If you do not know the answer to a question, DO NOT POST IT HERE . Post it in a separate thread.

Even if you think you know the answer to a question, if you cannot quote someone from FFG, DO NOT POST IT HERE .