Gathered List of Answered Questions (Taken from the old Forum)

By jeff.kahan.1, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Big Remy said:

Copies from the old forum:

Re: Regarding Tahlia and web/moving during OLs tur
Reply #13 - 01/30/07 at 06:53:23
Quote from Lorien on 01/30/07 at 06:31:00:
Let me get this straight:

Say Talia has a melee weapon equipped. She can use her guard order without any monster being adjacent the her and without being able to legally attack, just because her special ability allows her to possibly move into range of a monster before attacking.

Is the attack mandatory for her to get the movement? So can she just discard her guard and move to town without attacking anything?


Anyone can 'use' their guard order anytime they want to on the OL's turn. They don't have to have a legal attack to do so, they can just waste it. Tahlia is only different in that it actually matters for her.

The attack is not mandatory, merely the expenditure of the guard order.

-Kevin Wilson
Fantasy Flight Games

So yes, Tahlia can spend her Guard order without attacking to gain movement points. Remember that anything that increases her speed will come into action here, like Tiger Tattoo and Swift.

This reponse should probably get added to the Gathered List of Answered Questions thread.

Copied verbatim: seemed like a good suggestion.

Question for the answer concerning the Reach/Sweep problem: Does reach (without sweep) ignore figures for the purpose of determining line of sight?

The answer to reach/sweep says that reach/sweep does ignore figures for the purpose of determining line of sight. This is unclear as it could mean that it only does for the combination of reach and sweep or that it does for both abilities as such.

Thanks for any help in advance. :-)

LovingAngel said:

Question for the answer concerning the Reach/Sweep problem: Does reach (without sweep) ignore figures for the purpose of determining line of sight?

The answer to reach/sweep says that reach/sweep does ignore figures for the purpose of determining line of sight. This is unclear as it could mean that it only does for the combination of reach and sweep or that it does for both abilities as such.

Thanks for any help in advance. :-)

Its the combination. Normally reach does not ignore LOS for determining the target square.

Two questions, 1) in the JitD manual it says that the heroes may choose in which order they take their turns, in the quest guide it

says that the first player begins then the second player , etc... What is now the truth?

2) The monster reference cards have numbers on them for with how many players you're playing, does the overlord count?

So level 5 monsters is for 4 heroes and 1 overlord?

Many thx

Conan said:

Two questions, 1) in the JitD manual it says that the heroes may choose in which order they take their turns, in the quest guide it

says that the first player begins then the second player , etc... What is now the truth?

2) The monster reference cards have numbers on them for with how many players you're playing, does the overlord count?

So level 5 monsters is for 4 heroes and 1 overlord?

Many thx

we're not supposed to post answers here to prevent discussion, but I believe both questions are covered by the rules.

1) The heroes choose their order. The hero player that goes first is the first player, the hero player that takes up the next turn is the second player.

2) the OL is counted as one of the players, so a 4-hero game will use the 'lvl 5' card.

Where is the Q&A regarding the fact that Tahlia explicitly receives MP (not just movement) with her interrupt attack?

I´m fairly certain there was an official answer from KW, but it isn´t included here.

Its in a post like 3 comments up from here, Reply #25 from Thundercles.

Ok, the KW part of that post implies that she gets movement points (by saying she may jump to town), but it doesn´t say it right out.

Parathion said:

Ok, the KW part of that post implies that she gets movement points (by saying she may jump to town), but it doesn´t say it right out.

No it doesn't say it outright, but I honestly don't see how it could be read any other way so I personally wouldn't call that implied.

Parathion said:

Ok, the KW part of that post implies that she gets movement points (by saying she may jump to town), but it doesn´t say it right out.

You must be looking at a different #25 on this thread?

"So yes, Tahlia can spend her Guard order without attacking to gain movement points . Remember that anything that increases her speed will come into action here, like Tiger Tattoo and Swift."

It does say it right out. (And I don't see anything in that post about jumping to town?)

Unfortunately, that was me saying that and it wasn't part of KW's original response.

OK, so where does the town-jumping part that implies movement points come from? I don't see it.

Copies from the old forum:

Re: Regarding Tahlia and web/moving during OLs tur
Reply #13 - 01/30/07 at 06:53:23
Quote from Lorien on 01/30/07 at 06:31:00:
Let me get this straight:

Say Talia has a melee weapon equipped. She can use her guard order without any monster being adjacent the her and without being able to legally attack, just because her special ability allows her to possibly move into range of a monster before attacking.

Is the attack mandatory for her to get the movement? So can she just discard her guard and move to town without attacking anything?


Anyone can 'use' their guard order anytime they want to on the OL's turn. They don't have to have a legal attack to do so, they can just waste it. Tahlia is only different in that it actually matters for her.

The attack is not mandatory, merely the expenditure of the guard order.

-Kevin Wilson
Fantasy Flight Games

Big Remy says: So yes, Tahlia can spend her Guard order without attacking to gain movement points. Remember that anything that increases her speed will come into action here, like Tiger Tattoo and Swift.

It was part of thre original question.

Its a fair cop guv.

It was part of the question, but not a part that got answered. He didn't even give a generic "yes" or something to confirm correctness of the questioner's assumptions, he only stated specifically that anyone can choose to waste a Guard order.

He did have an opportunity to correct the implied assumption if it was wrong, but...I'm not really comfortable reading too much into the failure to challenge a presumption. Especially when the question didn't even receive a direct answer.

My aging eyes thank you!

The following is a quote of a quote, I do not know when or where KW originally posted this, but:

"Tahlia receives movement points as a result of her ability (it's the same wording as always), so she can perform movement actions with them. Note that if she opens a chest or a door or whatever, that's okay. It simply gets resolved and then (once her interrupt action is done) the OL's turn continues as normal. Think of it sort of as her getting an Advance instead of just an interrupt attack (but she doesn't REALLY get an Advance, so no munchkining combos).

But no, she can't spend fatigue on extra movement, as it isn't her turn. Items like the ring of quickness don't give her extra movement because again, it isn't her turn. OLs beware, however, as she can use her interrupt movement to go through a glyph to town, or even to lurk in town with a guard order, only to pop back through into the dungeon on the OL's turn (remember, only 1 trip through the glyph per turn, though). You will need to watch your monsters around a guarding Tahlia. In fact, several of the heroes in AoD will force you to change your strategies. Hey, why should the heroes be the only ones to have to do that?

-Kevin Wilson
Fantasy Flight Games"

Wibble said:

OLs beware, however, as she can use her interrupt movement to go through a glyph to town, or even to lurk in town with a guard order, only to pop back through into the dungeon on the OL's turn (remember, only 1 trip through the glyph per turn, though).

Great. Now we can argue over whether "one per turn" means "once on your turn, and once again on the overlord's turn (as with feats)," or whether this was supposed to imply that Tahlia can't use a glyph as part of her interrupt if she used one during her turn.

Thanks for dredging up the old answer, though, it's nice to know.

I could see it going either way, but I'd lean towards the "1 per turn" meaning what it has always meant which is really "once per round". So no Tahlia doing a Ready action, spending fatigue to go into the glyph, and then using her Guard on the OLs turn to come back in when he's activating the last monster so she doesn't have to worry about getting hit.

Big Remy said:

I could see it going either way, but I'd lean towards the "1 per turn" meaning what it has always meant which is really "once per round".

Sorry, in what context has it "always meant" that? Or do you mean that you're choosing to interpret in such a way as to prevent Tahlia from using glyphs more often than other heroes can use them?

Guess it a personal choice of wording that will probably now start a pointless semantics argument as now seems to be the norm on this forum.

Since Heroes can only use 1 glyph per turn, and Heroes only take one turn per round (the 4 heroes go, then the OL), that has effectively "always meant" that they can only use one glyph per round. Tahlia is the only Hero with the capactiy to break this rule (as far as I can tell) since she gains movement points on her turn. If you choose to accept the interpretation that "1 glyph per turn" effectively means 1 glyph per round, then she would still only be able to use one glyph.

Yes, I know "one glyph per round" is not a RAW statement in the rulebook, but I also see nothing that directly contradicts that as a fully valid extension of that ruling based on the RAW. If you can show me a clear cut case of a Hero (other than Tahlia) being able to use more than one glyph a round I'll gladly change my mind.

I don't think I would let tahlia glyph twice per round, once per turn. Why would she do anything but hang out by glyps all the time? She could always be going to and from town, letting other heroes activate glyphs, and then keep coming back at whatever glyph with movement and a guard order on the ols turn. It would be very boring. At this point, the only thing that says you can do something both on the heroes' turn and the OL's turn are feats, but...that's because so many feats activate during the OL's turn...and there aren't any feats that effectively allow you to never be in the dungeon when monsters are being activated...which this would allow tahlia to do.

Then there's the fact that in KW's post he says "remember, you can only use one glyph per turn" or whatever implies that you can't have already used the glyph "that turn" which really means that round. It's a simple wording mistake that FFG is reknowned for, and that a reading of context clearly indicates means no glyph out guard and then glyph in as your guard. One glyph. One round. That's my .02 dollars.

The first entry for the Gathered List has been changed to reflect the new FAQ.

As far this question:

Q: The rulebook states that a lieutenant or hero must end their movement in the same location to attack each other?
A: Heroes and Lieutenants must declare a move action if in the same location and wish to attack each other, but do not have to move a trail away from their current location during the move action.

Thank you all for your patience,
JeR

JeR said:

The first entry for the Gathered List has been changed to reflect the new FAQ.

As far this question:

Q: The rulebook states that a lieutenant or hero must end their movement in the same location to attack each other?
A: Heroes and Lieutenants do not need to declare a move action if in the same location and wish to attack each other.

Thank you all for your patience,
JeR

Wow...so...I guess that means you could siege and/or train on the same turn you attack (with) a Lieutenant. I would assume given the faq ruling that shopping, etc. have to happen after battles, that training and/or placing of siege tokens have to occur after battles are resolved. Still, being able to attack heroes to try to chase them away from a city before they can train in it (tpk required, I suppose) or go after a lt. knowing that as long as at least one of you escapes you can still train is pretty handy.

Yeah, that might cause some confusion due to the way its written:

If they had left the word "action" out of that sentence it would worked a lot better.

EDIT : Holy shoot, that didn't take long to get fixed!