companion

By buondiavolo, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

from Bespin rulebook.

COMPANIONS

A companion is a new type of support figure that is put into play through various game effects and is associated with a hero or a group. The companion shares that hero or group’s affiliation and activates before or after the corresponding activation.

When a companion is put into play, place its Companion card faceup in the ready position near its associated Deployment card or Hero sheet. Then, place its token on the map as indicated by the effect putting it into play.

A companion follows all normal rules for figures with the following exceptions:

  1. A companion does not block line of sight, and a hostile figure does not spend one additional movement point to enter a space containing a companion.

  2. A companion can end its movement in a space containing another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a space containing a companion.

  3. A companion is adjacent to each figure and object in its space, and each of those figures and objects are adjacent to the companion.

  4. A companion cannot interact and cannot use abilities on Class, Item, or Supply cards.

  5. A companion has a figure cost of 0 (see “Figure Cost” on the right).

  6. If a companion performs an attribute test, it automatically fails.

  7. When a group that is associated with a companion leaves play, the companion remains in play but can no longer activate unless a game effect allows that companion to activate as part of a different group.

  8. During a campaign, only one companion of each type can be in play at a time. During a skirmish, each player may have one companion of each type in play.

  9. When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if that companion was already in play under that player’s control, it is removed from the map first.

  • During a skirmish, abilities that specifically affect a companion can affect only your companion.

    During a skirmish, each player may have one companion of each type in play.
    When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if that companion was already in play under that player’s control, it is removed from the map first.

    So just 1 junk droid for each Ugnaught Tinkerers and

    Companions cannot interact, cannot block line of sight,occupy a space.to hinder henemy movement.
    They are really lame !

It's actually 1 Droid shared between all of the Tinkerers I believe.

This isn't really a rules question.

  • They are really lame !

They can do the things they do really well and cheaply.

Edited by a1bert

What I really want to know rules-wise is the following.

Setup:

1 reg ugnaught

1 elite ugnaught

Reg ugnuaght goes first, creates droid, then droid activates and does whatever.

Question:

When my elite ugnaught activates, can I go with the droid first, move, attack, then have the elite ugnaught order it to attack again?

If so, this is slightly better than only being able to activate the other way around, because the droid might not be next to a figure so you can't get that extra attack in.

Based on the text about when the droid readies, it sounds like you can't go with the droid first, which makes it less good.

It depends on whether your activation refers to group or figure activation. I would be receptive to interpreting it as a group activation, so the Junk Droid can ready and activate when you have selected the Ugnaught (group) to activate fore the Ugnaught figure itself activates.

It's actually 1 Droid shared between all of the Tinkerers I believe.

This isn't really a rules question.

There are 3 tokens for junk droids.

The question is that the rulebook is not very clear about the use of companions .

When a group that is associated with a companion leaves play, the companion remains in play but can no longer activate unless a game effect allows that companion to activate as part of a different group.

Which this effect should come from ?

I should have posted it in Skirmish forum where people talk about Ugnaught,but i thought more appropiate here to unreveal the rules about companions ;)

There are 3 companions. Each have their own token. Only one is the Junk Droid.

When a Junk Droid is summoned, it is associated with the Ugnaught Tinkerer who used the Spot Weld action. However, the association does not revert to other Ugnaughts when this one is defeated, but the Junk Droid (singular) can still activate as if part of the other Ugnaughts' groups.

(There are at least a couple of threads here - somewhere - talking about companions and the Junk Droid specifically. So look it up. One is

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/221060-one-junk-droid/

)

Edited by a1bert

It's actually 1 Droid shared between all of the Tinkerers I believe.

This isn't really a rules question.

There are 3 tokens for junk droids.

The question is that the rulebook is not very clear about the use of companions .

When a group that is associated with a companion leaves play, the companion remains in play but can no longer activate unless a game effect allows that companion to activate as part of a different group.

Which this effect should come from ?

I should have posted it in Skirmish forum where people talk about Ugnaught,but i thought more appropiate here to unreveal the rules about companions ;)

The other two tokens are for companions the heroes can earn during a campaign. The only Junk Droid token is the one with the art matching the art on the companion card.

In skimish can junk droids control terminals?

A companion can not interact so they probably can't pick up objectives or retrieve items correct?

All correct.