Dwarf Rangers

By mateooo, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

What happens if you have 3 Dwarf Rangers, and they all die at the same time from Troll Vomit, or if they die in the same Battlefield phase?

Do they get to trigger their ability to inflict damage? if so, how much damage?

Also, whats the typical time frame for getting answer responses for questions sent to the forum "Rules Question".

When you destroy everything in the table (by damage or by direct destroy effects like TV), what's in play goes in the discard pile simoultaneously...This doesn't prevent effects to be triggered individually...

So, if you have 3x Dwarf Ranger in the QZ (they work only if they're there), I'm pretty sure you'd deal 6 damages (2 for each)...I don't know what happens if in the ultimate flowchart or we'll get a specific "responses window" for cards leaving play that prevents you from triggering effects in this way...

BTW, right now, I'd rule it this way. ;)

Hope it made sense. :) What do you think?

Text read: Scout. Quest. Forced: After one of your other [Dwarf] units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital.

I think the rulebook says that simultaneous events are resolved in the order the current player chooses, but I dont know if that applies to resolving simulteneous deaths from trolls vomit or battle or other such effects.

I would buy

a) Simultaneous events being resolved in consecutive order , so each ranger dies in sequence creating 3 total points of damage (first ranger dies, triggering other 2 rangers (2 points) then next ranger dies, triggering one remaining ranger). (first-2 other rangers trigger, second 1 remaining dwarf triggers, 3rd dies, none left to trigger)

b) they all die simultaneously , so no damage, as the card ability states " After one of your other [Dwarf] units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital. "

But a unit has no ability if its not in play, unless otherwise stated ie fledgling Chaos spawn Battlefield. Forced: After this unit is destroyed, deal 1 damage to one target unit in any player's battlefield . or Sigmars Blessed: F orced: After this unit leaves play, return one target unit in any player's corresponding zone to its owner's hand .)

I dont really buy 6 total damage, because you would need one ranger leaving play to trigger another ranger that is still in play, so that ranger who is leaving play can't have its own ability triggered by the next two dying.

There is no moribund in this game. A card that leaves play cannot trigger its effect on the way out unless the card says otherwise. 3 Dwarf Rangers dying because of the same effect or game state takes all out simultaneously thereby no opportunity for one of them to trigger while they are all on the same table and by the time one is taken off the table they all go so no one is left to trigger.

At least this is the wayit works until there is an official flowchart that shows there is a place for forced effects to trigger prior to the resolution of the triggering event.

thanks dormous...

now to google the word moribund...

It is essentially a deathbound state. AGoT uses it for when a character (unit) has had some sort of remove from play (kill, discard, return to hand) effect on it, creating a terminal game state, there are still opportunities for card effects to be used, including those of the characters who are moribund. Only after all of these resolve does the window in which the characters had the terminal effect on themclose which removes them from play.

This game doesn't use that, any card that has a terminal game state is removed from play immediately with no opportunity to interreupt it . Only after a unit is removed is there another chance for a player action.

This came up earlier today, and we thought that Dwarf Rangers would be a nice counter to Troll's Vomit. However, now that I have thought it again, I agree that it does not work. Ranger ability can be used as a response to Troll's Vomit, but since the actions are carried out in reverse order, no Dwarf units have been removed from play by the time the ability takes place, so it has no effect. If the Ranger ability is not played as a response, it is too late - the rangers have already been removed from play because of Troll's Vomit.

Almost, Dwarf Rangers have a Forced Effect which means they trigger themselves only when all the conditions aremet does it intiate, meaning not until another Dwarf unit leaves play (physically taken out of the play area) does the Dwarf Ranger trigger, which, as you said, must be in play in order to hit the ones who left.

dormouse said:

There is no moribund in this game. A card that leaves play cannot trigger its effect on the way out unless the card says otherwise.

Any source to justify this statement ?

Dwarf Rangers read : "Forced: After one of your other [Dwarf] units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital."

Zhufbar Engineers read : "Forced: After this unit leaves play, each opponent must sacrifice a unit in this corresponding zone."

So, according to your statement, "this unit" would imply major differences in how both effect are resolved. And I don't like this idea...

To me, you'll deal 6 damages to your opponent capital. Next time, he'll play his Troll Vomit more wisely. demonio.gif

Actually I think the key words are on the Dwarf Ranger ( after another dwarf unit leaves play). If all destroyed units leave play at the same moment, the Ranger is not around afterwards for his effect to Force.

Martin the cards you quoted are exactly why Dwarf Ranger does not work that way. Nate has said there is no Moribund in this game. In order for a card's text to be active after it has left play it needs to be specified, and there is nothing in the rules to support an effect triggering from a unit not in play without that effect clearly saying it can.

@RexGator, @dormouse : Thanks for the additional explanations, I now understand what I read the wrong way. sonrojado.gif

No worry at all.