Damaging a capital outside combat

By Martin_fr, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Some card effects allow you to damage a capital outside an attack sequence (like the Dwarf Rangers, or the Empire Quest).

Question is simple : who's choosing the section the damage will be applied to ? Up to now, I considered it was the player controlling the damaging effect, but "Warpstone Meteor" game text contradicts this... So, how do you apply those effects in your games ?

Generally, the card text's pretty important about this issue.

When the card text says "deal damage to" (like Dwarf Ranger), the controller decides the target.

Warpstone meteor specifically uses the word "his", referring to each player: so, each player decides his own target.

Hope it helps. ;)

DB is correct. There is no"default" when it comes to this, each card will tell who is selecting the target or assigning the damage.

wow this thread almost made my head explode... llorando.gif

So if you have that support card in play that cancels 1 damage to your capital per turn, does it apply?

I mean, is it 'turn' each time a player goes, or 'turn' means once both players have had a go?

There is no "turn - both players have had a go" in this game. Everytime a player goes through the Turn Sequence is considered a turn.

A rules quote, fist thing pg. 10:

"The Warhammer: Invasion LCG is played over a series of turns. Each player completes his entire turn before the other player takes his turn."

dormouse said:

DB is correct. There is no"default" when it comes to this, each card will tell who is selecting the target or assigning the damage.

To be specific, the Empire Quest Defend the Border has text that allows me to redirect one point of damage to a target unit or capital. The card text does not say that I can pick which zone in the capital so I assumed that the owner of that capital would decide where it went. Am I reading this wrong?


It is telling you to redirect the damage, that means you get to decide where the damage goes.

dormouse said:

It is telling you to redirect the damage, that means you get to decide where the damage goes.

You decide where it goes between a specific unit and a specific captial. But does "damage target capital" implies the effect controler to also selects the zone that'll receive the damage ? That's the main point of my question.

You choose the capitol, the owner of the capitol chooses the zone.

Thanks that is the way we have been playing it.