Die re-roll timing?

By Rogue Dakotan, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Is it laid out anywhere the specific timing on when to reroll your dice?

This is mostly a question for if both the attacker, and defender have opportunities to reroll dice during an attack.

For attacks: step 3 of the attack: Reroll.

(For other rolls - mainly attribute tests: when the ability specifies.)

Order of abilities with identical triggers: Timing, page 2 of the RRG: during attacks, mission rules first, attacker abilities next and defender abilities last.

You can only reroll dice you have rolled. There are both attacker and defender reroll abilities in the game. Whenever an ability triggers, the player whose's ability it is can use it if they can pay the cost. If both attacker and defender have reroll abilities, the attacker must decide whether to use them first, the defender decides after seeing what happens.

Edited by a1bert

As defender, can I reroll a dice that has aready rerolled by the attacker? (so twice re roll on one dice).

Edited by Eyfrosyne

You can only reroll a die you have rolled. So, the defender and only the defender can reroll only defense dice. The attacker and only the attacker can reroll only attack dice. Thus the wording on Versatile Weaponry: the attacker forces the defender to reroll a defense die.

And, during attacks you can only reroll each die once as specified in the Attack chapter of the RRG.

Edited by a1bert

Is the following allowed?

Attacker and Defender both have re-roll abilities on their respective dice.

Attacker is initially happy with their mediocre result, and has not decided to re-roll.

Defender is not happy with their poor result, and decides to re-roll, getting a better result.

The Attacker, upon seeing the Defenders re-rolled result, now wishes to re-roll and hoping to improve their previous result.

I'm asking for a friend...

It is not allowed. Too bad if the attacker decided to not reroll. The decision stands. The timing window for the attacker has passed when the attacker decided to not reroll.

The timing rules prevent deadlocks where both attacker and defender want the other side to make a decision first. (Not only for rerolls, but for example for when declaring target/attack abilities as well.)

hmm... I'm not sure if this makes sense, but I have a clarification to my query.

The dice rolls happen at the same time.

The attacker has made no decision to re-roll or not re-roll.

The defender decides to re-roll.

The attacker now wants to re-roll.

Isn't it still the same trigger window for re-rolls?

Edit:

also, as this kinda pertains to my query;

An attacker has 2 re-roll abilities.

Can they use one re-roll ability on one dice, then after seeing the result choose to use the second ability on a second not-re-rolled dice?

Or do they decide use both, one or neither re-roll abilities at the same time?

Edited by Majushi

If the defender decides to re-roll before the attacker decides then I would still allow the attacker to reroll. If it is a friendly game be sure to explain the rules so people understand the timing. It is the same window but when there are two abilities in the same window the order is decided by the conflicts rule in the RRG as a1bert has already explained.

The second question, the attacker can decide to use the second re-roll after seeing the result. The main restriction is that a single die can't be re-rolled more than once for any reason.

The attacker has made no decision to re-roll or not re-roll. The defender decides to re-roll.

The defender should wait until the attacker has made the decision before performing their roll (and push the attacker to make the decision if needed). If the defender already rerolled without allowing the attacker time to make the decision (or the attacker did not notice an ability was available), the reroll stands and the attacker can use the information when deciding whether to reroll or not.

Things happen out of order often to make the game flow, and sometimes you need to roll back something when people forget abilities. The order in which abilities should be used is still clear.

Just as a follow on to this one (and a slight necro)

If a HK is attacked and can force a defender re-roll as well as re-rolling his own dice can he:

a.) Re-roll his own dice, and then force the defender to re-roll theirs

b.) Force a re-roll of the defenders dice, and then re-roll his own dice

c.) Do the above in any order he chooses

atm we've been playing it as it's an attacker ability he can modify in whatever way he chooses, but I'm not sure this is right?

Did you mean HK is attack ing ?

Because Versatile Weaponry and Targeting Computer are both attacker abilities (with the same trigger), the attacker decides their order (if he wants to use both).

Edited by a1bert

yep, my bad meant when attacking.

Thanks for the clarification

How about if an HK is attacking Lando and you force him to re-roll his defense die.

Can he re-roll his defense die even though you've already forced it to be re-rolled?

Also because Lando can exchange dice, can he instead change his die from the black die to the white die as the white die hasn't been re-rolled?

I'm pretty sure the answer is he can't re-roll his defense die period after the HK makes him re-roll it.

Here is an email I received back in April from Paul Winchester (Game Developer) about rerolls:

Hi Jimmy,

Any timing conflicts that occur during an attack are resolved in the order of mission rules, attacker effects, defender effects. If either the attacker or defender has multiple effects he wishes to resolve at once, he decides the order. So, all attacker effects that allow or require rerolls would happen before any defender effects that allow or require rerolls. In the case of the HK Assassin Droid, both of reroll abilities on the card would be considered attacker effects, even though one forces the defender to roll a die. So the HK’s player could decide to use “Versatile Weaponry” before using “Targeting Computer.” Both of these effects would occur before any effects the defender controls causing rerolls.

Thanks!

Paul Winchester

In the case of an HK attacking Lando:

Lando cannot re-roll his defensive die a second time, but he can still replace his die with a white die during the forced re-roll from the HK due to his ability Gambit.

How about if an HK is attacking Lando and you force him to re-roll his defense die.

Can he re-roll his defense die even though you've already forced it to be re-rolled?

Also because Lando can exchange dice, can he instead change his die from the black die to the white die as the white die hasn't been re-rolled?

I'm pretty sure the answer is he can't re-roll his defense die period after the HK makes him re-roll it.

The rule of not being able to re-roll a re-roll still applies, and if I remember correctly Lando's ability specifically mentions that you cannot do what you're suggesting.

What he can do, is replace the dice the HK makes him re-roll with a different dice colour of the same type.