While under an Active Defense...

By The Asgardian, in WFRP Rules Questions

When a character decides to use one of the Active Defense Actions, how long is the character assumed to be under an Active Defense? Just for that attack or until the start of his next turn?

Basically, how long can a character be "under an Active Defense" if that status is warranted?

-ashe-

I am unsure what you mean by "under an active defence" - is that phrase referenced in the rules? If so can you give me the context?

As for what an active defence does, you play it (out of turn) as a reaction to someone taking a swing/shot at you. You add bad dice (either black, double black or a purple depending) to that attack. You put 2 recharge tokens on the card and you cant use it again until all the tokens are gone. You only inflict the bad dice on the one attack you react to.

Heh.

I will have to re-read where I imagined that question came up in my head :)

-ashe-

Personally I think things get confused when they called it an Active Defense (it's a trait on the card) vs. Reaction (trait) on magic cards. Yet both can be used when you are targeted by an attack.

The traits are only somewhat menaingless at this stage. They aren't defined anywhere.

But yeah, it works like above.

the neat thing, if you have the prerequisites, you can string a Parry, Dodge and Block back to back, either in one round or over several. If you're fighting one on one, you can easily perform an Active Defense every round. If you're fighting many foes, you can either 'blow' all your Active Defenses OR string them out over a few rounds. It makes it visual and interesting either way.

To me this makes the combat full of meaningful choices.

Sarim Rune said:

the neat thing, if you have the prerequisites, you can string a Parry, Dodge and Block back to back, either in one round or over several. If you're fighting one on one, you can easily perform an Active Defense every round. If you're fighting many foes, you can either 'blow' all your Active Defenses OR string them out over a few rounds. It makes it visual and interesting either way.

I still find that the explanation as to when you can play a reactive action card, such as Parry or Block, to be elusive.

The games suggest you can do this as long as the action card is ready (no recharge tokens) but, what is not clear to me, is, if during the PC turn, he elected to use melee attack, why suddenly, does he get to choose to block action card and use it, when it is not his turn. Not against the rule, I just find the explanation as to how and when and what conditions apply to this to be unclear.

Well the block/parry/dodge are all reactions, they dont take place on your turn (would be useless if they did) and they dont take the place of a regular action card or skill check. You can attack and Block, you can cast a spell and parry, you can shoot a bow and dodge. Downside is the cooldown which means you cant dodge/block/parry every single attack, you can do one of each every 2 rounds. SLayers also have another reaction - and I think there is at least one spell that is a reaction.

Kaptain O said:

Well the block/parry/dodge are all reactions, they dont take place on your turn (would be useless if they did) and they dont take the place of a regular action card or skill check. You can attack and Block, you can cast a spell and parry, you can shoot a bow and dodge. Downside is the cooldown which means you cant dodge/block/parry every single attack, you can do one of each every 2 rounds. SLayers also have another reaction - and I think there is at least one spell that is a reaction.

I don't actually think block/parry/dodge are listed as reaction in their traits, actually.

That's not to say I don't agree with your sentiment though, I completely do. The active defences are used in response to an attack, they do not count as an action for your turn.

It also seems clear those cards that do have the "reaction" trait, can be used immediately in response to an action or trigger, rather than waiting for an appropriate turn in the initiative order.

I do wonder though, whether using a card with the "reaction" trait does take your turn (and therefore you turn over your hour glass immediately, or it can be used in addition to an action card on your turn. I'm still swayed slightly to the later, because if it was the former, then if you had already acted in a round, you would be unable to use any cards with the "reaction" trait (until possibly the next round).

Until we get a FAQ clearing up reactions, it's all assumption though!

the only cards I specifically remember having reaction are the troll slayer one that increases soak (clearly doesnt prevent another action) and the mage one counterspell, which you could argue should prevent you from casting but mechanically it works like a dodge/parry/block vs spells right?

at work, dont have cards/books so totally going from memory.