~ Focus,Weaken

By MattM, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

So does the surge that causes focus and weaken have to meet all requirements? Also can you use this surge on a figure you defeat during the attack? I thought I read somewhere conditions can not be applied to defeated figures....

Surge is a surge, you spend them. You need to have a surge to spend one, otherwise the surges themselves do not have any requirements.

1) You can always spend a surge for a condition or keyword - but read further... you may not want to

2) Blast, Cleave, and Conditions are performed/applied after the attack resolves

3) A miss (due to a dodge rolled or insufficient accuracy) causes the target to suffer 0 damage.

4) To perform Blast, Cleave, and to assign Conditions require that the target suffered damage from the attack. (It does not matter if the target was defeated/destroyed or not, just that the target suffered damage.)

See the steps of an attack from RRG and the Keywords and Condition reference cards for details.

If the target was defeated during the attack, it is no longer on the map when it is time to apply conditions, and having conditions would be moot anyway. A beneficial condition is applied to the attacker, if the attacker was not defeated during the attack (due to Parting Shot or other interrupts).

So, if you see that the target would not suffer damage, you would not spend a surge for Blast, Cleave or Conditions.

Edited by a1bert

So either yes or no.

If you miss/do no dmg, can u use a surge to recover or become focused?

~D

No what I am asking is can you do the surge which does both a focus and a weaken of the target is defeated? Mainly because you cannot apply conditions to defeated figures.

No what I am asking is can you do the surge which does both a focus and a weaken of the target is defeated? Mainly because you cannot apply conditions to defeated figures.

If a single surge does both a focus and weaken then just the focus would apply as long as damage is done.

I believe (but can't cite the ruling) that focus (and presumably hidden) surges don't require the target to suffer damage.

I believe (but can't cite the ruling) that focus (and presumably hidden) surges don't require the target to suffer damage.

Unless this has changed recently, all conditions, both harmful and beneficial, require the target to suffer damage to be applied.

All Condition keywords require that the target suffered damage. The current ones are Bleed, Stun, Weaken, Focus, Hide.

Once again: Blast, Cleave and Conditions require that the target suffered damage. (No relevance whether the target was defeated or not. Naturally you can't assign harmful conditions if the target was defeated and can't assign beneficial if the attacker was defeated due to side effects/interrupts.)

Any other surge ability does not require that unless explicitly specified. So you can recover 1 strain with it, and all Recover damage abilities also work.

You can spend the surge on anything you want... so yes, you can spend the surge on Focus and Weaken regardless of what will later happen to the target of the attack. At the end of the attack, if the target took damage from the attack, you can then apply the focus and the weaken. If the target was defeated, then you simply don't have a target anymore to apply weaken to, and it doesn't happen (but the focus will still happen).

You're allowed to spend a surge on a condition even if the target won't take damage... but if the target didn't take damage, you cannot apply the condition at the end of the attack.

Edited by neosmagus

Yup, that's the difference between the keyword and the condition itself. You trigger the keywords Focus and Weaken, but whether the condition Focused and/or Weakened is assigned after the attack resolves depends on if the target suffered damage and if the figure to receive the condition is still on the board.

And they are separate. Getting focused does not depend on the target becoming weakened.