A few questions for the pros

By usgrandprix, in Star Wars: Rebellion

Hi. I played one game and am now getting into the "learn nuance" phase of the game appreciation. If any old pros can help with these questions I'd be grateful:

1. Rapid Mobilization: If I choose to move up to 5 units to the Rebel base space, can I do this if there is a leader in the space I want to move the 5 units from? I'm thinking not but maybe I'm misunderstanding.

"Units cannot move out of a system that already contains a

leader from its faction."
"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow
all movement rules and restrictions."
2. Retreat: Similar question.
"To retreat from combat, the player must take one of his leaders
from the system and place it in an adjacent system. Then he takes
his units from that system and moves them to that leader’s system
following normal movement and transport rules."
So I can only retreat with one leader and I have to follow normal movement rules. If I had two or more leaders in the combat then there is still a leader in the system I'm moving from and:

"Units cannot move out of a system that already contains a

leader from its faction."
"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow
all movement rules and restrictions."
So can I move the retreating units? If not, what do I do with the leader I just moved?
This is what makes me wonder:
"Each player can only retreat from each combat once, even if he
has multiple leaders in the system."
That makes it sound like you can move unti even if there is a leader in the system you are moving from.
So, of course my gut instinct is that you can move the units from a system with a leader in it when retreating. And of course that could be abused to jump a couple of systems.
My main concern is this interpretation undermines these rules:

"Units cannot move out of a system that already contains a

leader from its faction."
"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow
all movement rules and restrictions."
So if I allow it for retreat then it seems like I should allow it for Rapid Mobilization
3. Structures: If the Rebels have a shield generator and no other ground units and the Imperial moves ground units into that system then do we resolve a combat? The only rule I could find is Step IV of a combat round:
"If the only remaining Rebel ground units are structures
and there are still Imperial ground units in the system,
the structures are destroyed."
But we'd have to get to Step IV first so the Rebel would get one ground combat to use tactic cards granted by the Shield Generator and potential leader(s), right?
Thanks a bunch for any insight and may the Force be with you, always.

Great Questions!!!!

Hi. I played one game and am now getting into the "learn nuance" phase of the game appreciation. If any old pros can help with these questions I'd be grateful:

1. Rapid Mobilization: If I choose to move up to 5 units to the Rebel base space, can I do this if there is a leader in the space I want to move the 5 units from? I'm thinking not but maybe I'm misunderstanding.

"Units cannot move out of a system that already contains a

leader from its faction."
"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow
all movement rules and restrictions."

Good catch, I never noticed this but you are right. Rapid Mobilization waves adjacency requirements, but not leader or transport requirements.

2. Retreat: Similar question.
....

Since retreating has its own subset of rules of for where and how you can move units, I would basically ignore the entire movement section of the rules in favor of the retreating section of the rules. Otherwise the retreat rules don't work, which is clearly not the intent.

3. Structures: If the Rebels have a shield generator and no other ground units and the Imperial moves ground units into that system then do we resolve a combat? The only rule I could find is Step IV of a combat round:
"If the only remaining Rebel ground units are structures
and there are still Imperial ground units in the system,
the structures are destroyed."
But we'd have to get to Step IV first so the Rebel would get one ground combat to use tactic cards granted by the Shield Generator and potential leader(s), right?

That's right.

Thanks a bunch for any insight and may the Force be with you, always.

And also with you.

First off, pros? Where?

Few questions, my eye.

In regards to your questions of movement. The leader in a system blocking movement only matters when you ACTIVATE a system by placing a leader in that system with the intent of moving units. In both situations, you are not activating a system. One is combat related, the other is a mission. And you only move one leader to retreat.

Structures in combat, you are correct, you would have one round of combat, but, what can a structure do in one round of combat? They can't attack, only support, so....

@ Jobu, card affects overide RAW, so, the mobilization would overrule, (Not 100% sure on this as I am at work and do not have the card in front of me, wording on the card could be important here).

Edited cuz Jobu is a faster typer than I

Edited by Hersh


@ Jobu, card affects overide RAW, so, the mobilization would overrule, (Not 100% sure on this as I am at work and do not have the card in front of me, wording on the card could be important here).

The rules are very specific in this regard Hersh, all movement restrictions apply unless waived explicitly.

RR pg 09.

"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow all movement rules and restrictions. For example, when the Rebel player moves units using the “Hidden Fleet” mission card, he must obey transport capacity and cannot move immobile units."

They do explicitly state that having a Leader in your base prevents you from moving units out of your base, so I see no reason that it would not apply to moving to the base.

The Rapid Mobilization card explicitly waives adjacency, but nothing else.

You are right that card text overrides, but I don't see a conflict between the two that would make one override the other.

Ok, fair enough. Like I said, I don't have hte card in front of me.

Just wait till I get home tho...

Thanks you two. It turned into a long post so thanks for sticking with it.

I really, really wish you could use Rapid Mobilization to move units from a system with a leader in it back to the base but I think the rule is clear:

"Units cannot move out of a system that already contains a

leader from its faction."
"If an ability allows a player to move units, he must follow
all movement rules and restrictions."

Hersh: I think these rules apply in general, not just during activation. In fact a few cards in a non-activation situation mention that you can make a move even from a system with a leader which leads me to believe that unless an ability specifically overrides these rules or it is a retreat then these rules apply. Any movement from a system with a leader is very powerful.

Puts a damper on my plan to hit a straggling Star Destroyer with "Plan the Assault" and get back to the base with "Rapid Mobilization" in one game round. This is trying for the "Major Victory" or "Rebel Assault" objective cards. If anybody has advice on that tactic for these they'd rival Admiral Ackbar in my mind.

WEll, I usually play Imps, so, I am not very good with Rebel cards. My daughter, tho, is VERY inventive with the way she plays her cards, as the Rebel player. Well, that and she is smarter than I am.

It's the natural way of things. Rebels are smarter. Imperials dress better.