Recharge question..

By Blustar, in WFRP Rules Questions

Do you remove a recharge token at the end of the turn you used the action, talent etc. ?

So an action card with a 2 recharge would only be out of commission for 1 turn? The turn you use it and the next turn?

Why does powerful throw have a recharge of 1? Isn't it pointless?

thanks

Blustar said:

Do you remove a recharge token at the end of the turn you used the action, talent etc. ?

So an action card with a 2 recharge would only be out of commission for 1 turn? The turn you use it and the next turn?

That's the way the rules read.

Blustar said:

Why does powerful throw have a recharge of 1? Isn't it pointless?

It would seem to be pointless.

I think you remove it at the end of your active turn. I've always thought the minimum recharge would be 2, but if it's 1 on some cards, I'm thinking there should be a line on the card with something like "{s} : put one recharge token on this card" that effectively prevents you from using it the next turn.

I don't have any of my cards with me, but I know there are some cards that have you increase the recharge time based on results (boons in the case of powers that are active while it's being recharged, and banes in other cases).

What is the card you are referring to out of curiosity?

I dug out my cards (again) and read the special section on the card. Having a recharge of 1 prevents a player from using the special effect every turn. If they do not use the special effect they can make a powerful throw every turn.

Mordenthral said:

I dug out my cards (again) and read the special section on the card. Having a recharge of 1 prevents a player from using the special effect every turn. If they do not use the special effect they can make a powerful throw every turn.

It is getting annoying to pull out the cards for nearly every question.

I am pretty sure that {BB} can be used to add a recharge token to any action, as per the universal effects rules.

Mordenthral said:

Blustar said:

Why does powerful throw have a recharge of 1? Isn't it pointless?

It would seem to be pointless.

It may matter if you throw it in Conservative Stance and get a Delay result.

As written this seems correct.

However it seems fishy to me.

The full combat example fails to mention the PC pulling any tokens (or even placing any tokens) on the Accurate Shot card that they played that round. They do mention that he has one recharging card (Dodge) which a token is pulled off.

So either:

a) You place Recharge tokens on the card during the End Phase after you pull tokens off (which isn't mentioned but slightly implied)

b) They forgot to mention it in the example.

Personally, I will have players put their tokens on in the End Phase, immediately after they remove one from other cards. It just makes more sense to me.

You place recharge immediately after you've successfully used the action.

You remove 1 Recharge during the End Phse, including from actions you used that round.

So yes, a 2 recharge action means it's an "every other round". A 1 recharge normally has no turns missed, although things that cause delays, such as conservative dice or other action cards, can add to this to cause a delay.

dvang said:

You place recharge immediately after you've successfully used the action.

You remove 1 Recharge during the End Phse, including from actions you used that round.

So yes, a 2 recharge action means it's an "every other round". A 1 recharge normally has no turns missed, although things that cause delays, such as conservative dice or other action cards, can add to this to cause a delay.

Not refuting you but on what page does it say that. I'm having trouble finding it.

I think "recharge rating" under Action Card Elements on page 50 of the rulebook tries to answer this question.

Talents work differently. When you exhaust a talent you flip it, put four tracking tokens on it, and remove tokens at the end of your turn as usual except when the talent that has been exhausted was socketed on the party sheet, in which case a token is removed at the end of every party members turn and every party member can use fortune points to recharge it. (pg. 14, 20-21.) I think there is some slightly confusing language on pg. 14: "when a talent card is exhausted, a number of tracking tokens equal to its recharge rating are placed on the card". Confusing only because somone might start looking for the recharge ratings on talent cards. I think this confusion can be cleared up by saying that the recharge rating of all talent cards is 4. I am not sure how much we can quote, if at all, from the books. But I thought I might mention this.

Sarim Rune said:

dvang said:

You place recharge immediately after you've successfully used the action.

You remove 1 Recharge during the End Phse, including from actions you used that round.

So yes, a 2 recharge action means it's an "every other round". A 1 recharge normally has no turns missed, although things that cause delays, such as conservative dice or other action cards, can add to this to cause a delay.

Not refuting you but on what page does it say that. I'm having trouble finding it.

WFRP pg 50, Action Card Elements, Recharge Rating

"After an action with a recharge rating has been successfully performed, the active player places a number of tracking tokens onto the card equal to the card's recharge rating."

WFRP pg 57, End of Turn Phase

"During the End of Turn Phase, the active player removes one tracking token ... from each of his currently recharging action cards."

jlok said:

Talents work differently. When you exhaust a talent you flip it, put four tracking tokens on it, and remove tokens at the end of your turn as usual except when the talent that has been exhausted was socketed on the party sheet, in which case a token is removed at the end of every party members turn and every party member can use fortune points to recharge it. (pg. 14, 20-21.) I think there is some slightly confusing language on pg. 14: "when a talent card is exhausted, a number of tracking tokens equal to its recharge rating are placed on the card". Confusing only because somone might start looking for the recharge ratings on talent cards. I think this confusion can be cleared up by saying that the recharge rating of all talent cards is 4. I am not sure how much we can quote, if at all, from the books. But I thought I might mention this.

It's not actually stated, in relation to talents on party sheets, whether a token is removed at the end of every player's turn or just the end turn of the player who activated it. I think a lot of people play the second option, until this is properly cleared up in the FAQ. ALL player's can certainly spend fortune to speed up the recharge of a party talent, as you say, though, that is clearly stated.

Having a token removed at the end of every players turn could possibly make party talents recharge too quickly, IMO.

In the case of the party sheet I just treat the party as a single character. While there may be several spots on the initiative track for party actions, the last one denotes the end of the party's turn (since no one can act after that action during the same round). It makes sence to me that the last player to act during the round removes tokens from the party sheet during his recharge.

I think you are right about option two; it seems that it should recharge at the end of each turn of the player who exhausted it. The text does say that an exhausted party talent potentially recharges faster (that is, only if everyone spends fortune to help it recharge faster). I stayed up way too late and thought I had read something that seems now to have existed only in my imagination.

"When a talent card is exhausted, the talent is placed face down and four tracking tokens are placed on the card. One recharge token is removed at the end of each of the character's turns." This sentence implies that the recharge tokens are removed at the end of the turn of the character who exhausted the talent card. The rules only say that a talent socketed to the Party Sheet can be exhausted by any player and that it may recharge faster due to every character being able to spend fortune points to remove recharge tokens. It doesn't say anything about altering the normal recharge process, so I would continue to have the player who exhausted the talent be the one to remove recharge tokens from it during his turn.

Example assuming no fortune points are spent along the way: A player exhausts a talent socketed to the Party Sheet in round 1. At the end of his turn he removes 1 recharge token, leaving 3. During round 2 he removes another regardless of where in the initiative order he goes, leaving 2. During round 3 he removes another, leaving 1. In round 4 that player acts before any other character in the initiative order and at the end of his turn, removes the last recharge token from the talent. The talent is now available to any other character in the party during round 4. If you treat the Party as a separate character that always goes last, no one would be able to use the talent again until round 5, an unfair penalty in my mind.

mac40k said:

"When a talent card is exhausted, the talent is placed face down and four tracking tokens are placed on the card. One recharge token is removed at the end of each of the character's turns." This sentence implies that the recharge tokens are removed at the end of the turn of the character who exhausted the talent card. The rules only say that a talent socketed to the Party Sheet can be exhausted by any player and that it may recharge faster due to every character being able to spend fortune points to remove recharge tokens. It doesn't say anything about altering the normal recharge process, so I would continue to have the player who exhausted the talent be the one to remove recharge tokens from it during his turn.

Example assuming no fortune points are spent along the way: A player exhausts a talent socketed to the Party Sheet in round 1. At the end of his turn he removes 1 recharge token, leaving 3. During round 2 he removes another regardless of where in the initiative order he goes, leaving 2. During round 3 he removes another, leaving 1. In round 4 that player acts before any other character in the initiative order and at the end of his turn, removes the last recharge token from the talent. The talent is now available to any other character in the party during round 4. If you treat the Party as a separate character that always goes last, no one would be able to use the talent again until round 5, an unfair penalty in my mind.

Yep, I think the mechanic, whether intentionally or not, gives an extra tactic in helping to decide who goes when in the initative order, if you have the person who used the talent taking off the tokens.

I also noted that this also applied to active defences... as you only take off tokens at the end of your turn, if you apply active defences to attacks against you that occur after you have acted in that turn, the defence becomes unavailable for a full two turns (because you won't start removnig tokens until the end of your next turn), whereas if you hang back in initiative and apply your defences, then attack, you get you defence back at the end of your next turn.

So when you have defences available, it seems tactically better to hang back, apply your defences as needed and then pick up an initiative line lower in the order. Once you have used you defences, you should act as soon as possible in the round (in particular the round in which you start with one recharge on them) to try and get back your defences quickly for the rest of the round..

The FAQ states the following:

To remove a token from an exhausted talent, party members must
spend fortune points, as outlined on WFRP p. 21, “every character
using the sheet has the opportunity to spend fortune points to help
recharge an exhausted talent socketed to the party sheet.”

I read this as requiring fortune point spends to remove party sheet recharge tokens.

In addition, since action cards don't recharge when they fail, reaction cards like parry, block and dodge can be used again in the same round as long as they fail to prevent an opponents success.

The FAQ states:

Any number of immediate use actions/responses can be activated
when an appropriate triggering act occurs. For example, a PC could
attempt to apply Dodge, Parry, and Block all against the same
incoming melee attack.

The rule on top of page 50 in the main rulebook says: "Note that action cards do not acquire any recharge tokens if the check to perform the action failed - recharge tokens are only placed on the card after it is successfully used."

Guard, Block, and Dodge have "No Check". Thus they cannot fail the check to perform the action and will always get the recharge tokens. Plus the Effect line of these Active Defenses clearly state that you add the recharge tokens before you add the misfortune die to the pool.

Is it confirmed then that you remove a recharge token from an action on the turn you actually use it?

yes, confirmed by both the rule book and the FAQ.

Just to clarify as well; if a character uses dodge/parry/block and they have already acted, their recharge is slower. For example:

  1. PC Attacks. At the end of their turn they remove 1 recharge token from all recharging actions/talents.
  2. PC defends + uses Dodge. They place 2 recharge tokens on it. They do not remove any recharge tokens until the end of turn phase on their next turn.

versus:

  1. PC defends + uses Dodge. They place 2 recharge tokens on it.
  2. PC Attacks. At the end of their turn they remove 1 recharge token from all recharging actions/talents including the dodge token.