Rapid Mobilization

By ArcaneSpringbrd, in Star Wars: Rebellion

I just thought I'd point out something that I'd misunderstood about the Rapid Mobilization mission.

It's not just used to move the Rebel Base.

It's also used to move up to 5 units from one system TO the Rebel Base without having to be adjacent to it. I'd assumed that you got to move the 5 units to the 'new' Rebel Base when you move it (so that it wouldn't be empty).

Suddenly this card is going to be getting a lot more use in my games. :-)

It's a powerful card AND the effects of the card does not take place until the END of the Command phase. This means the Rebel player does not even have to decide how to use the card until they have seen all the actions of the Imperial player.

I just thought I'd point out something that I'd misunderstood about the Rapid Mobilization mission.

It's not just used to move the Rebel Base.

It's also used to move up to 5 units from one system TO the Rebel Base without having to be adjacent to it. I'd assumed that you got to move the 5 units to the 'new' Rebel Base when you move it (so that it wouldn't be empty).

Suddenly this card is going to be getting a lot more use in my games. :-)

Hi Arcane

I may have misunderstood you so sorry if I have. You don't get to move the base AND move units to it, its one or the other.

I just thought I'd point out something that I'd misunderstood about the Rapid Mobilization mission.

It's not just used to move the Rebel Base.

It's also used to move up to 5 units from one system TO the Rebel Base without having to be adjacent to it. I'd assumed that you got to move the 5 units to the 'new' Rebel Base when you move it (so that it wouldn't be empty).

Suddenly this card is going to be getting a lot more use in my games. :-)

Hi Arcane

I may have misunderstood you so sorry if I have. You don't get to move the base AND move units to it, its one or the other.

I think the OP realises that. He or she specifies that is how they WERE interpreting the card before realizing it allows more flexibility.

You can move your base and move units with contingency plan I think

You can move your base and move units with contingency plan I think

Nope. Contingency plan can only be used on a mission card in your hand. Since RM doesn't go back into your hand until the end of that phase, this isn't an option.

I feel like this card should resolve at the end of the next turn. It's just too convenient for the Rebel to wait until the turn the Empire will be moving within 1 jump and just go hide somewhere else.

I feel like this card should resolve at the end of the next turn. It's just too convenient for the Rebel to wait until the turn the Empire will be moving within 1 jump and just go hide somewhere else.

Imp players need to be ready for such a move.

One game I was expanding extremely quickly, too quickly really. Didn't have enough ground forces, so the transports were being left behind to help protect key systems. Once the base was located, I started moving in a fleet to take them out, and all the other fleets and transports were flung to any system that I didn't have probed yet. My opponent didn't realize what I was doing yet. The next turn he pulled some tricks to delay my attack and mobilized. When he drew his 8 cards he realized what I had done. 3 of them were systems that I stuck transports on. 1 more had a major fleet, 2 were Imp systems, leaving only 2 viable locations out of what he drew. Looking at the map when he moved, he only had 3 total positions to move to, and I had a transport with a stormtrooper next to all 3. Next round was quick and dirty.

Combined control of the map along with a good supply of probe cards means that even if they pick up and run, you already have the possible locations narrowed down to a scant few locations.

I just thought I'd point out something that I'd misunderstood about the Rapid Mobilization mission.

It's not just used to move the Rebel Base.

It's also used to move up to 5 units from one system TO the Rebel Base without having to be adjacent to it. I'd assumed that you got to move the 5 units to the 'new' Rebel Base when you move it (so that it wouldn't be empty).

Suddenly this card is going to be getting a lot more use in my games. :-)

Hi Arcane

I may have misunderstood you so sorry if I have. You don't get to move the base AND move units to it, its one or the other.

I think the OP realises that. He or she specifies that is how they WERE interpreting the card before realizing it allows more flexibility.

Yup. This. I thought it was used JUST for moving the Rebel Base (or at least preparing to do so).

I didn't realize it could also be used to move units TO the Rebel Base, without moving it.

I feel like this card should resolve at the end of the next turn. It's just too convenient for the Rebel to wait until the turn the Empire will be moving within 1 jump and just go hide somewhere else.

The deck is stacked against them. This mechanic keeps it from being too easy for the Empire. It also give the Rebels a bait and switch tactic option. It fits the theme and adds to the "wing and a prayer" hope the Rebels operate on in the movies.

I've actually found this game to be VERY balanced when playing a faction by its strengths. The Empire will (and should) win all straight forward battles. The Rebels excel at (and are rewarded for) hit and run tactics. One faction is good at changing hearts, the other ruling by fear.

In the games that I've played, I have to say that in my opinion that the rebels have a very significant advantage in almost all of the games I play with me and my friends, the Empire doesn't seem to win that often and maybe we're just playing the Empire incorrectly.

The empire just has to do a lot of things right.. like what the guy said about spreading forces out to cover lots of planets so they can't "get out of doge" Its a very balanced game and we have never had a blow out win either way. its always down to the wire.

You can move your base and move units with contingency plan I think

Nope. Contingency plan can only be used on a mission card in your hand. Since RM doesn't go back into your hand until the end of that phase, this isn't an option.

How sure are we that Rapid Mobilization doesn't go back to your hand?

I get the steps:

6 . Mission Success: As long as the mission did not fail during step 5, the player performs the ability on his mission card.

7. Discard or Return to Hand: After using a starting mission card, it returns to the player’s hand. All other mission cards (including projects) are discarded after use.

Now it can be interpreted that since no effect occurs until the end of the Command phase, the card remains in play since only half of step 6 occurs.

But it can just as easily be ruled that the card resolves, returns to your hand and the effects just don't happen until end of turn. Eg. the whole affect of "At the end of the Command Phase" triggers, even though you do not execute any effects or make any choices at that time.

The card doesn't resolve until the end of the command phase though. You don't even make the choice of which action you are doing until the end of the command phase. A card doesn't return to your hand until it's been resolved.

The card doesn't resolve until the end of the command phase though. You don't even make the choice of which action you are doing until the end of the command phase. A card doesn't return to your hand until it's been resolved.

That's one way of looking at it.

The other way is that the card creates a trigger that goes off later in the phase even though the card has returned to your hand. The card has resolved before the Imperial player takes his next turn in the command phase and that resolution is setting up a condition that triggers later on.

I am not saying you are not right, I am just saying I am not 100% sure that you are right and I don't believe there is enough of clarity in the rule set to make a 100% call either way.

My rule of thumb for rules interpretations is:

Thou shalt not create additional rules.

For your interpretation to be correct, you need a 'trigger'. There is no provision for triggers in the rules. Therefore, you're creating a new rule. Therefore, the other interpretation is favoured.

My rule of thumb for rules interpretations is:

Thou shalt not create additional rules.

For your interpretation to be correct, you need a 'trigger'. There is no provision for triggers in the rules. Therefore, you're creating a new rule. Therefore, the other interpretation is favoured.

Well it creates an effect (or trigger) later on in the game (at the end of the command phase) even if you leave the card on the table, which leads to the same issue of no provision for triggers. I guess I am not seeing much of a difference between it going off later in the turn because you resolved a card that is now in your hand versus it going off because you resolved a card that stays on the table. I will say it is a good reminder when its on the table.

Hey folks, so I wasn't seeing anything that dissuaded me either way on this so I asked FFG.

Rules Question:
Hello, I am requesting a clarification between the interaction between Rapid Mobilization and Contingency Plans. If during a turn, I reveal the Rapid Mobilization card and then later in that turn I execute Contingency Plans, can I choose Rapid Mobilization for two executions of it at the end of the Command phase? The crux of the matter is when does the Rapid Mobilization come back to your hand. Is it when you initially reveal it and place your leader in the rebel base or does the card stay "in play" until it is completely resolved at the end of the Command Phase? Thanks in advance!

Hello Joe,

If a player uses “Contingency Plan” to use “Rapid Mobilization” a second time he would resolve Rapid Mobilization twice at the end of the command phase. This could allow him to relocate the base twice, move units to the base twice, or a mix of both.
I hope this answers your question!
- Corey Konieczka
VP of Research & Design
Fantasy Flight Games
He didn't exactly answer my question, but based on him stating what the effects would be if they are used together, I am inferring that its legal to use Contingency Plans on Rapid Mobilization after it has been played.

Hey folks, so I wasn't seeing anything that dissuaded me either way on this so I asked FFG.

Rules Question:

Hello, I am requesting a clarification between the interaction between Rapid Mobilization and Contingency Plans. If during a turn, I reveal the Rapid Mobilization card and then later in that turn I execute Contingency Plans, can I choose Rapid Mobilization for two executions of it at the end of the Command phase? The crux of the matter is when does the Rapid Mobilization come back to your hand. Is it when you initially reveal it and place your leader in the rebel base or does the card stay "in play" until it is completely resolved at the end of the Command Phase? Thanks in advance!

Hello Joe,

If a player uses “Contingency Plan” to use “Rapid Mobilization” a second time he would resolve Rapid Mobilization twice at the end of the command phase. This could allow him to relocate the base twice, move units to the base twice, or a mix of both.
I hope this answers your question!

- Corey Konieczka
VP of Research & Design

Fantasy Flight Games

He didn't exactly answer my question, but based on him stating what the effects would be if they are used together, I am inferring that its legal to use Contingency Plans on Rapid Mobilization after it has been played.

Would you mind adding this to the Official Rules Response thread? Thanks.

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/217120-official-rules-responses/

Interesting answer for sure.

Being able to move and reinforce the base at the same time makes that a powerful combo.

I thought I would ask here since it is thread on Rapid Mobilisation mission.

If I use this mission to move units to Rebel Base, will Rebel Leaders prevent move as usually if they are in system which I'm moving from?

I'm sorry for double post, but I just found the answer.

On 5/27/2016 at 4:02 PM, usgrandprix said:

Rules Question:
Hi. Thanks very much for your time. Can you use the "Rapid Mobilization" mission card to move up to five units from a system if the system you are moving from has a leader? Thank you very much.

Reply:

Hello,

No. Friendly leaders in the system prevent you from moving units.
I hope this answers your question!
- Corey Konieczka
VP of Research & Design
Fantasy Flight Games

On 5/9/2016 at 1:35 PM, Nyxen said:

I feel like this card should resolve at the end of the next turn. It's just too convenient for the Rebel to wait until the turn the Empire will be moving within 1 jump and just go hide somewhere else.

What are you talking about? It's resolved at the end of the Command Phase which is effectively the end of the turn... read the **** card. You play it but whatever effect you choose doesn't happen until right before the start of refresh phase.

I did, I think it should move EoT the turn after. Being able to leave that turn is just too easy.