When do command cards enter the discard pile?

By Equity, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

A question came up in my last skirmish and I couldn't find a reference to clarify the rule.

I played "There is another" at the beginning of the round and during Leia's attack wanted to use Military efficiency on that card. My opponent said no you can't do that because the effect is still being resolved. My understanding is that all command cards are put in the discard pile as soon as they are played but can be kept on the table as references for memory. What are the rules for discarded cards in this situation? Please point out a reference in the rules if you find it

1) Reveal card.
2) Resolve ability.

3) Discard card.

I think I can see the argument in that if the ability has a duration, that the ability isn't "resolved" until the duration expires. However, the ability in this case is that the card is granting an effect with a duration. Even if the effect lasts for a specified duration and you are using it as a reminder, the ability is considered resolved as soon as the ability is granted by the card. At which point, the card is in the discard pile

"Command Cards", SG, Page 5:

A player can play each Command card when specified on that card. To play the card, he reveals it to his opponent, resolves its ability, and then discards the card.

1) Reveal card.

2) Resolve ability.

3) Discard card.

I think I can see the argument in that if the ability has a duration, that the ability isn't "resolved" until the duration expires. However, the ability in this case is that the card is granting an effect with a duration. Even if the effect lasts for a specified duration and you are using it as a reminder, the ability is considered resolved as soon as the ability is granted by the card. At which point, the card is in the discard pile

"Command Cards", SG, Page 5:

A player can play each Command card when specified on that card. To play the card, he reveals it to his opponent, resolves its ability, and then discards the card.

Which would also mean "Set a Trap" would be considered discarded and available for recycling? Not that it's super worth recycling (or necessarily including all the time) but making sure I get the logic.

Yes. That is what this would mean. As would Survival Instincts.

Edited by Fizz

I thought, the effects of Set a Trap are resolved after the attack took place?!?

Other example: Gideon plays Take it down on Leia. Leia shoots, uses Military Efficiency, she cannot recycle Take it down at that time

From what I remember from skirmish rules with persistant effects, Set a Trap is played and discarded (but remains on the table as a marker) during start of round (its timing says Use at the start of a round). Effectively its effect is to choose a tile, after which it is discarded. The lingering effect is to perform something with the selected tile at the end of round.

This isn't completely analogous, but Skirmish Guide:

Memory Issues
Some Command cards have abilities that apply until a specific
time, such as the end of the game round. To help remember that
the card is in effect, players may wish to place the card by the
component it is affecting. For example, if a Command card gives
a figure a bonus each time it defends this round, players may wish
to keep the card by the figure or its Deployment card until the end
of the round.

Your other example: Take It Down is still being resolved when the attack happens, so it has not yet been discarded.

Skirmish Guide, Command Cards :

A player can play each Command card when specified on that
card. To play the card, he reveals it to his opponent, resolves its
ability, and then discards the card.

Interesting point about Take it down. Here I thought I was asking a simple question... I would say as soon as you select a figure to perform the attack, the card is resolved and discarded.

I was assuming the attack in Take It Down happens as an interrupt and "time stops" for the activating figure whenever something interrupts. It can also be that my intuition is wrong.

The rule does imply that the effect is resolved completely and the command card is discarded before play continues. (Which would also match that Reinforcements is discarded before play continues.)

Edited by a1bert

I was assuming the attack in Take It Down happens as an interrupt and "time stops" for the activating figure whenever something interrupts. It can also be that my intuition is wrong.

The rule does imply that the effect is resolved completely and the command card is discarded before play continues. (Which would also match that Reinforcements is discarded before play continues.)

If we have to wait for the effect to resolve that is a different story. Then set a trap wouldn't be discarded until the attack was finished.

The point was that play continues once you have discarded the card. Take It Down does not have a sustained effect, while Set a Trap has.

The point was that play continues once you have discarded the card. Take It Down does not have a sustained effect, while Set a Trap has.

I think I misinterpreted the statement. When you say play continues, that includes the attack of take it down. When I first read it, I included the attack as part of resolving the effect.

The source for the attack is the special action spent after playing Take it Down. Although Take it Down does not use "interrupt", the attack does interrupt (because a different figure performs it) and the action of Take it Down is not complete before the attack is complete. By continuing I meant that you can't spend movement points or perform another action or ability or end activation before the attack and thus the action spent has resolved.

RRG specifically says you resolve the effect (including the attack), then discard the card. (Except as specified in Memory for lingering effects.)

(Well, as I see it.)

Edited by a1bert