Skirmish: "the start of a round" time instance and relating command cards

By qoopboodqoop, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Guys this came up in a game last night, can I just clarify where it says you can only play one copy of a card at any one time?

I get the example in the rules of not adding +2 accuracy twice, but something like reinforcements or jundland terror is able to be used twice yes?

I assumed it couldn't be but when we looked it up it didn't seem to be stopping that so I allowed it from my opponent.

You can't play two Reinforcements during the same start of round nor two Jundland Terrors during the same end of round.

ยท A player cannot play multiple copies of the same Command card at the same time.

It then follows with an example, which is not an exhaustive list of command cards you can have multiple copies of.

Edited by a1bert

His argument was that they're not at the same time, it's one copy then resolve fully before using the second copy.

Is this a fairly widely held view? Would be good to know for regionals etc.

They have the same trigger, so they trigger at the same time, but are resolved one after another. When you have resolved one, it is still "start of round" / "end of round", and you can't play the identical card a second time.

(This has been ruled on by FFG, so it's not just our interpretation of the rules.)

(Edit: and if you read back at the start of this thread and possible a few other threads, maybe the FAQ thread as well, it is the consensus.)

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/134793-official-imperial-assault-faq/

Edited by a1bert

Smashing, thanks for the clarification