Thunderous Blow Action Card - Critical Damage

By commoner, in WFRP Rules Questions

Thunderous Blow has some strange language I've been trying to get my head around for a while. It has a success line that says the card deals critical damage. Does that mean only one card is flipped to critical damage, all the cards, how much damage is critical? A lot of the language of the other cards concerning critical damage says it does 1 Critical or 2 Critical or +1 Critical, but that card simply says, critical damage. Anyone have any idea what that means?

I checked the critical section in the book and it says something like "critical damage" means it deals a number of critical's equal to the critical number, or +1 Critical if the card says +1 crit, you flip an extra card. So I'm assuming the critical damage comes from the weapon, but I'm still not sure about it.

commoner said:

Thunderous Blow has some strange language I've been trying to get my head around for a while. It has a success line that says the card deals critical damage. Does that mean only one card is flipped to critical damage, all the cards, how much damage is critical? A lot of the language of the other cards concerning critical damage says it does 1 Critical or 2 Critical or +1 Critical, but that card simply says, critical damage. Anyone have any idea what that means?

I checked the critical section in the book and it says something like "critical damage" means it deals a number of critical's equal to the critical number, or +1 Critical if the card says +1 crit, you flip an extra card. So I'm assuming the critical damage comes from the weapon, but I'm still not sure about it.

Somebody else got official clarification on this by email. Critical damage means one critical hit. So, one of the wounds gets flipped.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=167&efcid=3&efidt=232418&efpag=0#233304

Check out this thread where Jay gives some clarifications on critical hits and damage. Basically criitical damage just means that one of the wounds caused will become critical damage. This is not cumulative with other sources that cause "critical damage." When it says +1 critical then that is cumulative. For example lets say you hit an enemy for 8 damage (after modifiers) and were lucky enough to trigger two effects that caused critical damage and had two other effects that caused +1 critical each. The two "critical damage" effects are not cumulative so you would have a baseline of 1 critical damage. The other two +1 criticals would add onto that baseline giving you a total of 3 critical damage out of the potential 8 damage you did. This means you would cause 5 normal damage and 3 critical damage.

Do the critical cards then apply to the wound threshold?

Yes, the card counts as a wound even if it is also a critical.

Critical Wounds are just more serious wounds. So, yes, they count as a Wound too.

Keep in mind, that +X damage adds Wound cards. +X Critical doesn't add cards, but converts normal wound cards into criticals (ie, flips the Wound card over to reveal critical side)