You know, I never really looked at the card before as I haven't used it. I'm glad I did read this thread b/c I think I would've been confused!
Can Someone Please Explain the Illicit Cloaking Device?
I, too want to make sure I'm reading it correctly ...
If you roll a focus during end phase, and maybe can't do the barrel roll, so instead you remove your cloak token, stay still .. and still discard the card .. correct?
I, too want to make sure I'm reading it correctly ...
If you roll a focus during end phase, and maybe can't do the barrel roll, so instead you remove your cloak token, stay still .. and still discard the card .. correct?
Correct.
I, too want to make sure I'm reading it correctly ...
If you roll a focus during end phase, and maybe can't do the barrel roll, so instead you remove your cloak token, stay still .. and still discard the card .. correct?
Correct.
Three things can happen when you end your turn cloaked:
1: You don't roll an eye. You remain cloaked and can choose to decloak or not at the start of the activation phase.
2: You roll an eye. You discard the card.
2a: You choose to decloak. You execute a decloak as described on the decloak reference card at the end of the round, before the next round commences and the planning phase begins.
2b: You choose not to decloak (or cannot because all the available decloaks are blocked), you instead simply remove the cloak token and are no longer cloaked.
Interestingly, if, in theory, Boba crew were to force you to discard the Cloaking Device by landing a crit whilst you were cloaked, you wouldn't be forced to decloak. The forced decloak is as a result of the rolled die only. You'd still be able to decloak normally, because that's just a function of having a cloak token, not of having the card.
I mean, it's a vanishingly unlikely situation, but there it is.
Edited by thespaceinvader
Exactly so. Note that in the case of 2b, if you couldn't decloak at the end of one turn, you wouldn't have been able to decloak at the start of the next.
That's what Marinealver meant by a 'free move' - even if it breaks immediately, you still get a free decloak move out of it. Think of it much like Inertial dampers - a one-use very effective free move that might (probably will) let you get multiple uses out of it.
Still works once, and that's what you're paying for with it.
![]()
Given the complete underperforming nature of the mist hunter to date, I quietly expect/hope they'll FAQ it in a number of months to a subtly different grammar - decloak and fry, or token discard and keep.
Still not reliable, but at least gives you the option to hang onto it if you need it for the next turn ahead, say.
I hope they do change it, to what it should have been at the start - cloak once, decloak once, discard. The lack of reliability is the painful part of it.
It is reliable for 1 time, however with the chance to get multiple uses from it which already puts it above glitterstim which is reliable for 1 use and then never again. However if you look at illicits they are supposed to be consumable with most of them discarded or end up having other factors that limit the number of uses such as feedback array which is limited by health or deadman's switch which can only be used once.
If you are depending on the cloak to give you a straight up +2 agility for most of the game (like you would for a TIE Phantom) then you are using it in the wrong way and really should just stick to phantoms. As I recommend use it for the free moves. You can cover a lot of ground and jump from outside of range 3 to range 1 and visa versa with it. If it fails you got one good use from it if it stays then all the better.
Edited by MarinealverI've used it on Guri only a few times but have been VERY impressed with the results.
I took Lone Wolf, Virago, Adv Sensors, cloaking device, autothrusters. Think of it as a delivery system. Guri absolutely cannot get caught at range 2 actionless, but she's nigh untouchable at range 3 if cloaked. Then she skips to range 1 and starts tearing stuff up.
It might not last til the end of the game, but it can very reliably get you to where you want to begin the fight.
Edited by SekacExactly so. A cloaked Starviper at range 3 is ridiculously hard to hit, especially with Lone Wolf, and unlike a TIE interceptor, doesn't fall apart if the dice betray you once.