Yet another Kingsport question

By Dr Mordrid, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hello everyone.

I ran through the Kingsport rules. Oops, i had to run through the Rift section again. Okay, Rift opening seems not so difficult with the help of the diagram.

However, i'm uncertain about rift movement. Do Rifts move before or after monsters ? In other words :

1- a Rift moves along a matched colored arrow,

2- a monster appears to the Rift's new location,

3- if that monster's dimensional symbol is on the mythos card's movement pattern, does this monster move immediately ?

I hope my question is grammatically clear, i already had to edit the text to unserstand it myself. :lol:

Thanks for your insights anyway.

A monster released by a rift is not moved in the same round as it's spawned; as a general reminder, think this: step 3 of the Mythos resolution is "resolve the movement patterns", hence, you resolve the movement of everything that can be moved and it's on the board at the beginning of this step.

This could not be crystal clear in the rules, but logic helps us here: if the monster moved, then it could trigger a lot of other stuff (like diving into vortices, forcing other monsters to move - in case you get the Dark Druid moving on black, and so on) and at that point it'll be impossible to actually keep track of everything.

Thank you.

****, i hadn't thought about this one : rules say that rifts move like black-bordered monsters. Does this mean that if they're in the same place as an investigator, they don't move ?

If that's the case :

- seems the monster appears in the shared place,

- even though the rift did not move, i suppose a doom token would be added if it was instructed to move along a correctly colored arrow...

They move like black-bordered monsters, but they are not monsters. So, the rift moves away from the investigator (thematically, it has sense: a monster hunts down humans, the rift is a tear in the fabric of reality moving of its own will, no interest in puny humans)

****, i hadn't thought about this one : rules say that rifts move like black-bordered monsters. Does this mean that if they're in the same place as an investigator, they don't move ?

If that's the case :

- seems the monster appears in the shared place,

- even though the rift did not move, i suppose a doom token would be added if it was instructed to move along a correctly colored arrow...

"Moves like black-bordered monsters" is just an oversimplification to help give you a visual. It doesn't care about the investigator and will just follow the arrow if it can. And it will add a doom token if the color matches, whether or not the Rift actually physically moves.