Tricks with R4 Agromech

By cybu, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I just wanted to make sure if I got this right:

Your Jumpmaster has a target Lock on the defender, a focus token and R4 Agromech + Guidance Chips equipped. You attack with a Proton Torpedo thereby using the Target Lock. Now you roll, let's say: Eye, Blank, Blank, Blank. You use your Focus Token to change the Eye to a Hit. R4 Agromech gives you a Target Lock which you then use to reroll the 3 Blank Results. Now you roll Hit, Eye, Blank. You use Guidance Chips to change the Blank to a Hit and the ability of the Torpedo to change the Eye to a Crit. This gives you a total of: 3 x Hit and 1 Crit.

This should work, right? Or did I get some timing wrong?

Bonus Question: Same situation, only you have a second Focus Token (from Attanni Mindlink or whatever). Could you also use the second Focus Token to modify the rerolled dice (and thereby getting another Target Lock). I guess yes. Or is there some once-per-turn-only clause?

Initial question: yes, that all works.

Second question: I'm of the opinion that Once Per Opportunity stops you spend two focus tokens to change all eyes to hits within the same attack, but I know there are people who think otherwise.

It's definitely not once per turn though, if you're making more than one attack you can spend a focus token on each if you have more than one.

Second question: I'm of the opinion that Once Per Opportunity stops you spend two focus tokens to change all eyes to hits within the same attack, but I know there are people who think otherwise.

There is no once per opportunity limitation for spending focus tokens. It applies only for card abilities.

Rules reference, modify attack roll step:

Then the attacker can modify his attack dice in one or more of the following ways as many times as possible :

* Focus

etc.

So the answer is the OP's second question is: yes, you can spend your second focus token to modify the rerolled dice.

Thanks for the quick answer.

And yes, once per turn doesn't make any sense. I rather meant to say once per attack.

Second question: I'm of the opinion that Once Per Opportunity stops you spend two focus tokens to change all eyes to hits within the same attack, but I know there are people who think otherwise.

I think that's how it should work, too, but we're outvoted. As Ubul points out, the Rules Reference pretty explicitly allows it--and in the very similar case of spending multiple evade tokens against a single attack, it's been legal for a long time to do so.

Second question: I'm of the opinion that Once Per Opportunity stops you spend two focus tokens to change all eyes to hits within the same attack, but I know there are people who think otherwise.

I think that's how it should work, too, but we're outvoted. As Ubul points out, the Rules Reference pretty explicitly allows it--and in the very similar case of spending multiple evade tokens against a single attack, it's been legal for a long time to do so.

Yeah fair enough, I couldn't find the reference in the rules, and it turns out there's a reason for that.

Meh well.