reaction trait on action cards

By pumpkin, in WFRP Rules Questions

Do you think this means/implies that the action can be used out of sequence (i.e. you don't have to wait until you turn in the initiative order) or even in fact that it doesn't count as an action (i.e. use up your turn) for that round?

The effect text on many of the cards use the term immediately, in response to some other condition that the reaction card is supposed to alleviate. i.e. when X happens you may immediately do Y to lessen/prevent the impact of X.

how are people using these cards with the initiative track?

pumpkin said:

Do you think this means/implies that the action can be used out of sequence (i.e. you don't have to wait until you turn in the initiative order) or even in fact that it doesn't count as an action (i.e. use up your turn) for that round?

The effect text on many of the cards use the term immediately, in response to some other condition that the reaction card is supposed to alleviate. i.e. when X happens you may immediately do Y to lessen/prevent the impact of X.

how are people using these cards with the initiative track?

I figured reactions meant that they could be used only when triggered. As such, I view them as giving the player the ability above and beyond his regular turn. As such, there is no flipping of hour-glasses or shifting of initiative.

Is there a specific reaction card that you had in mind?

These cards have a "Trigger" that activates tham outside the normal initiative order and have nothing to do with that track. Nor do that have a limit of "you can't use this if you have already acted this turn"...

I also cannot find a limit on reactions, so RAW you can Block, Parry and Dodge an attack simultaneously.

Mordenthral said:

I also cannot find a limit on reactions, so RAW you can Block, Parry and Dodge an attack simultaneously.

Really? I thought there was a limit of 1 reaction per trigger. But maybe I am confusing 2nd and 3rd ed. rules.

Just a minute.. I was looking over Parry, Dodge and Block and they are not reactions. They are just "in play" at all times and as an 'Effect' you can add recharge tokens to them to activate the effect.

I can't find where it says in the rules that you can only use one Active Defence at a time, but that's another discussion. They aren't Reactions . :)

Mordenthral said:

Just a minute.. I was looking over Parry, Dodge and Block and they are not reactions. They are just "in play" at all times and as an 'Effect' you can add recharge tokens to them to activate the effect.

I can't find where it says in the rules that you can only use one Active Defence at a time, but that's another discussion. They aren't Reactions . :)

this is from one of the designer diaries,

"Several active defences can be activated against the same incoming attack. If a stout dwarf mercenary has his axe in one hand and a sturdy shield strapped to the other, he could choose to attempt to Parry and Block the same incoming attack."

so that's that one cleared up!

so reactions don't count as actions, don't have to wait until a suitable point in the initiative to be used, and are effectively free actions.

I agree completely, but is that actually stated in the rulebook(s) anywhere?

pumpkin said:

this is from one of the designer diaries,

"Several active defences can be activated against the same incoming attack. If a stout dwarf mercenary has his axe in one hand and a sturdy shield strapped to the other, he could choose to attempt to Parry and Block the same incoming attack."

I guess the justification is that each roll represents more than a single swing of the weapon. I just have a hard time visualising a simultaneous parry and dodge with either of them being particularly effective.

I think its more like parry and duck (or possibly side-step). happy.gif

I may have missed it, but does this game say how long a single "encounter round" is supposed to be?

I am still puzzled on this. I can't find a rule on action cards called "reactive"

If on a PC initiative, I use an action card, what allows that same PC to use a Parry action card if he is attacked on the monster initiative. I don't get this sequence.

simpatikool said:

I am still puzzled on this. I can't find a rule on action cards called "reactive"

If on a PC initiative, I use an action card, what allows that same PC to use a Parry action card if he is attacked on the monster initiative. I don't get this sequence.

Active defences don't count as "actions" in that sense, they can simply be used to (hopefully) avoid taking damage when someone is attacked. The PC still gets to take a regular action during the initiative round performing one of the other action cards in their hand, using one or more active defence actions don't prevent this, they are like "free actions" really.


There are also some cards that have the reactive trait, and some people (most?) on this thread also think that this means they don't count as an "action" and are simply used at the appropriate time in response to the trigger listed on the specific card, and in that sense cards with the reactive trait are also "free actions".


The free action concept of active defences is covered in the rulebook , whereas the free action concept of reactive cards is not, AFAIK.

pumpkin said:

The free action concept of active defences is covered in the rulebook , whereas the free action concept of reactive cards is not, AFAIK.

I have been combing through the rule book trying to figure this out. do you have a page # to reference?

I guess what bothers me, is that in the play example, they make a big deal about the amount of manuevers with appropriate stress and fatigue penalties the example PC (Mellerion) needs to make in order to get off his attack. It ends with the PC switching out to his melee weapon because he "won't be dodging for some time". What I can't figure out is why using dodge or block or parry for example when the PC is being attacked is free, or automatic.

What else can a PC do when he is being attacked? Can he take stresses to perform some other possible action that is not free.

One thing about the trait cards. I like em and think its a great idea. I however think there is not enough specific definitions on what the different traits on the cards means.

simpatikool said:

pumpkin said:

The free action concept of active defences is covered in the rulebook , whereas the free action concept of reactive cards is not, AFAIK.

I have been combing through the rule book trying to figure this out. do you have a page # to reference?

I guess what bothers me, is that in the play example, they make a big deal about the amount of manuevers with appropriate stress and fatigue penalties the example PC (Mellerion) needs to make in order to get off his attack. It ends with the PC switching out to his melee weapon because he "won't be dodging for some time". What I can't figure out is why using dodge or block or parry for example when the PC is being attacked is free, or automatic.

What else can a PC do when he is being attacked? Can he take stresses to perform some other possible action that is not free.

One thing about the trait cards. I like em and think its a great idea. I however think there is not enough specific definitions on what the different traits on the cards means.

Ok for me it's a combination of a couple of things. Firstly, the quote from the designer diary earlier in this thread suggests a pc can use more than one active defence against a single attack. If it cost an action to use an active defence (action not a manuver..you can never use a manuver to use an "action" card, it's simply not an option) then you could only ever use one per attack, as you only get 1 action per round.

The other rule I'm using is in section 4 on page 58. Here it says that the target's defence value is added to the pool, one die per point. I think this relates to active defences as well as passive defences from armour and shields. i.e. if you choose to parry and block the attack, you add in 2 dice in addition to any you get from armour and shields.

As these active defences take a while to recharge, you still have to use them wisely, so this is where the "cost" associated with them comes from. Guarded position is a "regular" action that someone could do when attacked that helps with defence, and this isn't free.

I think better definition of what the various traits mean is critical in any kind of FAQ produced, becuase currently it is very muddy.