Chaos Star/Twin Tailed Comet Question

By guest414878, in WFRP Rules Questions

Forgive me if this is something I have overlooked, or was already posted, but the Chaos Star and Comet pips can be counted as a Bane and Boon/Success respectively correct?

Now with that in mind, does a regular bane/crossed swords cancel the comet pip when designated as a boon or success? Or does it basically count as an automatic boon/success seeing as the comet is not technically a success and just acts as one? And vice versa for the Chaos star.

Thanks!

It seems clear to me that if you use the Twin Tailed Comet as a success, that it will be cancelled out by a Crossed Sword. The same situation applies visa vis Boons/Banes and the Chaos Star. Wish I could get you a page number or quote, but you can trust this answer since you read it on a game forum on the internet.

partido_risa.gif

Seriously, I'm about as certain as I can be on this one.

I'd agree with Boris. If you use the Chaos as a Bane, or the Comet as a Success/Boon then it can be canceled.

Yep I would agree, I think the reason you can count it as a success if you want is on those occasions where your normal successes and failures have cancelled each other out.

kaiserjez said:

Yep I would agree, I think the reason you can count it as a success if you want is on those occasions where your normal successes and failures have cancelled each other out.

Or where there is not a Comet/Star result on the Action card you are useing. Though I may opt to NOT convert the Star if it would lead to enough Banes to cause problems. sorpresa.gif

Thanks for the input guys! I tend to look a little bit too far into things sometimes! babeo.gif

Gobbo said:

kaiserjez said:

Yep I would agree, I think the reason you can count it as a success if you want is on those occasions where your normal successes and failures have cancelled each other out.

Or where there is not a Comet/Star result on the Action card you are useing. Though I may opt to NOT convert the Star if it would lead to enough Banes to cause problems. sorpresa.gif

You can't choose to not convert the Chaos Star (ie you must convert if there is no Star entry) ... unless you're the GM and want to claim GM fiat.

Gobbo said:

Or where there is not a Comet/Star result on the Action card you are useing. Though I may opt to NOT convert the Star if it would lead to enough Banes to cause problems. sorpresa.gif

As a GM I kinda feel obligated to interpret the CS in whatever way is the most inconvenient to the players. I also see it as carte blanche to make something up to annoy them. But this is balanced out, coz when the Comet turns up I try to let my players have it count for something they want.

dvang said:

You can't choose to not convert the Chaos Star (ie you must convert if there is no Star entry) ... unless you're the GM and want to claim GM fiat.

Good to know. I am the GM. gui%C3%B1o.gif