3 questions from a new player

By Ninjaman65, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

First let me apologize for repeating any questions that may have already been asked, but there are 100+ pages of posts.

A little about me...I'm a noob to Descent. Bought the game on Black Friday at my comics shop for way cheap. Played my first game the next day with me being the OL and 3 friends. I loved the game, it will get played many times.

The game went smoothly...sorta. One player was a wizard, but by luck of the draw on the skill cards, he was WAY OVERPOWERED. Every attack of his was doing 13+ damage. I thought maybe there was something wrong, but I watched him draw his skill cards at random after they were shuffled and he fairly purchased weapons/armor so I can't say much there. Another friend was a warrior type and was somewhat powerful, but again, I guess it was luck of the draw. Rules were fairly easy to understand and grasp, we only had to go back to the rulebook a couple of times.

Okay, on to my questions...

1) Is it just me, or are the monsters way too weak? I played the monsters at the 3 player stats and they (the players) were wiping the floor with them. I kid you not, after I revealed the first room on the first quest, I had no monsters to activate on my turn, and no where to spawn monsters, which brings me to question 2.

2) Are hero's considered to have line of sight all around them, even when their back is turned? I found it hard to find good spots to spawn monsters. I had to resort to spawning in rooms they already left. To which I had to waste a turn moving them there tiny amount of move speed (I know there are OL cards to help with that, but I had none at the time)

3) What are some good OL strategies? I realize now that I shouldn't bother with some cards and should discard them right away for threat tokens. And I should probably play traps while the players are in the middle of combat, but beyond that, what are some other good tips?