pumpkin said:
NezziR said:
There is a rule where if you have "excess" power, unless you concentrate (use a manuver) you lose 1 power on your turn.
Can't find any rule that if you have less, you gain one though.
Ahha! Yes! This is where it came from. Stay with me now:
On ToM: 34, under Excess Power, it says:
...but they need to concentrate a small amount of energy to keep power from dissipating as it tries to reach equilibrium based on their Willpower. To reflect this, a spellcaster must spend a manoeuvre on his turn to control this excess power. If the spellcaster cannot or chooses not to spend a manoeuvre to control the extra power, he loses one power.
This demonstrates 'power going down', seeking equilibrium, and provides a mechanic from keeping it from doing so (though it would have been nice if it had been assigned some timing, such as 'in the Beginning of Turn Phase'). So, we have a 'battery draining' example.
On ToM 33, under Channeling Power , it says:
When his power level is below his Willpower rating, his power slowly recharges, until it eventually reaches his Willpower rating. When his power level is higher than his Willpower power slowly dissipates unless the Spellcaster can exert control <snip>
This demonstrates both the recharge and the dissipation concepts, back to back, and using the same verbage (slowly). This is where I got in trouble. I assumed because (it appears that) power recharges and discharges at the same rate, and power will discharge during combat rounds, that it would recharge as well if it was lower than the casters Willpower.
Since it never says that power increases during combat in the book, and since no concrete timing is provided for the mechanic, it is likely my assumption that power goes up (instead of just down) in encounter mode was wrong. I will update the caster sheet to reflect that on next release.
Thanks for helping me sort this out. It was starting to bug me.