Bloodthirster Question

By ventura72, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

In a game last night, my wife played Bloodthirster. At the beginning of her turn the only unit in her BZ was Bloodthirster. Since it reads that each player must sacrifice a unit in corresponding zone, was she supposed to sacrifice the BT because he was the only unit in that zone?

Yup, say goodbye to the Bloodthirster

Forced March on BT, move him to a zone where he is all alone, is more evil than Chaos itself llorando.gif .

I have another question about the bloodthirster. The card says "Damage cannot be cancelled." Is this a global effect meaning that all damage made in any way cannot be cancelled or just an effect that concerns the damage done by the bloodthirster? I believe the former, but would like a second opinion.

And related: even though the damage cannot be cancelled, it can still be redirected, right?

Global effect as long as the Bloodthirster is in play, and yes it could be redirected as redirected is not the same as outright canceled.

NO! Not a global effect. Only the Bloodthirsters damage can not be cancled!

Gobbo said:

NO! Not a global effect. Only the Bloodthirsters damage can not be cancled!

Incorrect. The Bloodthirster's effect is a constant effect and GLOBAL.

Gobbo said:

NO! Not a global effect. Only the Bloodthirsters damage can not be cancled!

Can you give a valid argument to back up that sentence? I bet you can't.

It says "damage cannot be canceled". Damage in general, not "damage dealt by Bloodthirster".

What does Global mean?

I don't see anything in the rules or on any card that states "global"

As far an uncancellable. I just looked through the rulebook and I don't see the term mentioned. Anyone else?

Global as in effects everything. So all damage cannot be canceled as long as the Bloodthirster is in play.

It is a Constant effect as defined by the rulebook and as such it contains all requirements and limitations within the effect itself. In this case, there are no limitations and the only requirement is for the Bloodthirster to have its ability in play.

Uncancelable is not going to appear in the rulebook because cancel is already there and any dictionary will tell you what the prefix un- means.

FiendishDevil said:

Incorrect. The Bloodthirster's effect is a constant effect and GLOBAL.

Thanks. I, too, misread the card and was on a "only Bloodluster" interpretation (which created troubles when assigning damage from a group of units).

Thank you, guys, for clearing things up.