Controlling a planet

By MacArthur2, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

I have a question:

Is it necessary to have Groundforces on a planet to control it ?

Thanks a lot

No. It requires Ground Forces to TAKE the planet (in most cases), but if you pull the Ground Forces off, and have your control marker there, it still counts as controlling it.

Otheriwse, the "I now control 18 planets outside my home system" objective would be impossible, since there are only 12 Ground Force pieces, and you have to have at least one actual plastic piece when using the tokens.

Not ground forces, I agree. What about starships?

I know there is at least one stage2 objective card that says something like. I control Mecatol Rex and all systems adjacent to it... then in parentheses it mentions something about control needing at least one non-fighter ship in the system. Didn't find any clarifications in the rulebook, any answers?

awp832 said:

I know there is at least one stage2 objective card that says something like. I control Mecatol Rex and all systems adjacent to it... then in parentheses it mentions something about control needing at least one non-fighter ship in the system. Didn't find any clarifications in the rulebook, any answers?

In order to control a SYSTEM you must control all planets therein and have at least one non-fighter ship in orbit. This is different from controlling a planet, which does not require you to maintain plastic (although it is obviously reccomended.)