Yesterdays few first games and few questions

By Rozy, in Battlestar Galactica

Rozy said:

Big Head Zach said:

Gaius Frakkin Baltar said:

Once the cylon(s) is/are reveled, Executive orders can nearly double the number of actions humans take over the course of the game.

How, do you consider playing EO as Action? If yes that you cant double anything

Vespers said:

Mike said:

The Executive Order card itself reminds me of an old Chinese parable...if people want, I'll post it in a separate topic.

Yes, pls. I am kind of sick hearing that EO doubles your actions when it actualy does not, unless you play them as non-action cards, which is wrong :)

LOL!

While I have a lot of Sun-Tzu anecdotes, you misquoted me there. It was Frank who was reminded of the parable. ;)

Rozy said:

Yes, pls. I am kind of sick hearing that EO doubles your actions when it actualy does not, unless you play them as non-action cards, which is wrong :)

EO doubles actions. Here is how:

My turn, I play Executive Order on you as my action. You may immediately either move and take an action, or take two actions where you are. I then resolve the rest of my turn.

Your turn, you play Executive Order on me as your action. I may immediately either move and take an action, or take two actions where I am. You then resolve the rest of your turn.

Four actions (or two moves and two actions) for the price of two actions.

James

So if I understand it right, which I dont know.

In your turn you play EO on someone else, then he Immidiately (not in his turn), can move and perform one action or perform two actios. So that would be good but is this the right course of actions? I dont know. I always thought that he would have to wait and then in his turn to play 2 actions.

What you suggest is very powerfull. So this could help us a little to deal with cylons.

No I see the great misunderstanding that fuelled the former argument. And my stupidity in not thinking clearly enough. :P

Yes, Rozy, the target of Executive Order immediatly gains 2 actions or 1 action and one movement, despite it not being his turn.

And, yes, EO is powerful. That's what we're trying to say. :P

Rozy said:

So if I understand it right, which I dont know.

In your turn you play EO on someone else, then he Immidiately (not in his turn), can move and perform one action or perform two actios. So that would be good but is this the right course of actions? I dont know. I always thought that he would have to wait and then in his turn to play 2 actions.

What you suggest is very powerfull. So this could help us a little to deal with cylons.

Now you're starting to understand! The actions are taken immediately. If all human players have access to leadership cards you can pretty much double your team's actions with this card. Our group throws these around liberally. For Roslyn, there is often no other decent choice.

Mike said:

Source? I believe this is not possible.

Gah, it isn't. I misread a rule. It said you coud acivate your own viper, but I misread an article.

Hey thank guys, now it makes sence to me, why they just could not write immediately performs his actions. Maybe they could clarify this in next FAQ.

I am looking forward to test the game with this rule.

But this leads to other question:

If I EO someone and he turns ti be a cylon so making his first action he reveal himself, can he then perform another action such as activating the Cylon Fleet location etc. Can urevealed cylon EO the revealed one?

And one more. If card refers to a player (eg. current player discrads 3 skill cards) what if the current player is revealed cylon. I would say he discards his cards as well.

Rozy said:

Hey thank guys, now it makes sence to me, why they just could not write immediately performs his actions. Maybe they could clarify this in next FAQ.

I am looking forward to test the game with this rule.

But this leads to other question:

If I EO someone and he turns ti be a cylon so making his first action he reveal himself, can he then perform another action such as activating the Cylon Fleet location etc. Can urevealed cylon EO the revealed one?

And one more. If card refers to a player (eg. current player discrads 3 skill cards) what if the current player is revealed cylon. I would say he discards his cards as well.

From the FAQ:

Q: Can a revealed Cylon player be targeted by the “Executive
Order” skill card?
A: No.

That's one of your questiosn any way. Not sure about the others.

But technicaly what I mean is that the player I target with EO is not Cylon yet, he just reveal himself as his first action. So the question remains, could he then immidiately perform another action?

Rozy said:

But technicaly what I mean is that the player I target with EO is not Cylon yet, he just reveal himself as his first action. So the question remains, could he then immidiately perform another action?

Edit: I was about to say yes - but I seem to recall somebody about a revealing cylon's turn - and that it ends after moving to the Resurrection Ship and discarding down to three. You'd have to consult with the mnual - I don't remember it off-hand.

Rozy said:

Hey thank guys, now it makes sence to me, why they just could not write immediately performs his actions. Maybe they could clarify this in next FAQ.

I am looking forward to test the game with this rule.

But this leads to other question:

If I EO someone and he turns ti be a cylon so making his first action he reveal himself, can he then perform another action such as activating the Cylon Fleet location etc. Can urevealed cylon EO the revealed one?

And one more. If card refers to a player (eg. current player discrads 3 skill cards) what if the current player is revealed cylon. I would say he discards his cards as well.

I suppose he could, haven't seen it done like that in any of our games though. Generally the humans figure out who the cylon is before he's ready to reveal. That would be a good way to go though...but it would probably be better to screw the humans as your first action then reveal yourself.

The rulebook does say that the player's turn ends.

However, would it really unablance the game if an EO'd cylon coudl activate the ressurection ship location when revealing?

Id have killed to be able to do that....if you get a not great at the moment SuperCrisis card you get a second draw without wasting a turn before you go play it.