Spells question

By Daemon22, in Talisman Rules Questions

On the rulebook it said:


"The maximum number of Spells a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn"

Now i have two questions about it:

1. If i started the turn with 1 spell an during that turn i gained 1 spell, can i cast that spell on that turn, or i can only cast the spell that i started with?

2. If a character have the ability to gain spell at the start of his turn (like the sage sage), can he cast that spell on the same, or he cannot because at the start of his turn he has no spells?

Daemon22 said:

"The maximum number of Spells a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn"

Now i have two questions about it:

1. If i started the turn with 1 spell an during that turn i gained 1 spell, can i cast that spell on that turn, or i can only cast the spell that i started with?

2. If a character have the ability to gain spell at the start of his turn (like the sage sage), can he cast that spell on the same, or he cannot because at the start of his turn he has no spells?

#1: You started the turn with 1 Spell, so you can cast 1 Spell. Doesn't matter which Spell it is, say your Craft is 6 and you draw Spell Book, which puts you at max Spells, so now you have 3 Spells, you can cast any one of the three (assuming you legally can).

#2: Sage started the turn with 0, so he can cast 0 on that turn.

Thanks to clear that up Dam.....

Looks like the FAQ went the other way, Sage (and by extension Warlock) can still cast Spells even when they start their turn with 0 (and then get their Spell(s) from the ability).

I just saw that in the FAQ,

Thanks...

Dam said:

Looks like the FAQ went the other way, Sage (and by extension Warlock) can still cast Spells even when they start their turn with 0 (and then get their Spell(s) from the ability).

I agree with the FAQ. Sage is a versatile Character, but being able to draw one Spell and play it during the next player Turn is very slow paced.

Still it's less powerful than Wizard/Prophetess/Wand "have at least one Spell", which has not been changed by this ruling of Sage Special Ability.

The_Warlock said:

I agree with the FAQ. Sage is a versatile Character, but being able to draw one Spell and play it during the next player Turn is very slow paced.

Still it's less powerful than Wizard/Prophetess/Wand "have at least one Spell", which has not been changed by this ruling of Sage Special Ability.

Warlock can now start a turn with 0 Spells, get 3 (once he gets +1 Craft) and zap all 3 on the turn he got them.