Inspiring Leadership question

By FrogTrigger, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I have been play testing the Twin Shadows imperial class as I want to run it in my next campaign and I have some questions regarding the abilities.

The stock skill is Field Officer which is an attachment that gives the unit the Order action. Field General is another attachment that gives a figure the Executive Order action. Lead by Example is a card that says After you resolve an Order or Executive Order, you may perform a move or move/attack (depending which you choose). As far as I can tell, there is no limit on attachments per group.

So here is the scenerio, I deploy a group of Elite Heavy Storm Troopers (EHST), I throw both FIeld Officer and Field General on them and I have Lead by Example face up in my play area..

Activate EHST:

A: Uses his first action to use Order to tell EHST B to move

B moves, this gives A a free move so he also moves

A: Uses his second action to use Executive Order, telling EHST B to attack Ally

B attacks Ally, this gives A a free attack so he also attacks Ally

A's actions are done

B then activates and attacks Ally, then still has a second action if he wants to use it, to move or interact or whatever.

Is this legit? I tested this last night with Canyon Run giving it to EHST and I couldn't even get my Rebels to the first Red before they were all wounded. I feel like I have to be doing something wrong and its so obvious I have just over looked it. Maybe it was just OP paired with a lot of lucky 8 range blue rolls from the Tuskans? Thanks in advance for correcting me.

Edited by FrogTrigger

As far as I can tell, this looks solid to me. There is no attachment limit, and you are targeting *another* friendly correctly.

Ya I can't figure out what is wrong with it, and maybe it was just the one mission I tested it that it seemed so over powered, but man alive it is ridiculous. I was just devastating the heroes. And focus these guys down, even if I managed to, well I can just pop it on the next deployment again.

It is a good thing this can't go on Trandoshans or that would be GG.

Anyone else used this in campaign to incredible effect?

Edited by FrogTrigger

Seems legal. I thought you might forget the "exhaust" on the attachments and have them both Executive Order eachother, but as long as you only use each attachment's special on one figure per round, I think it's legal. Just note that you've only gained one full figure's worth of actions (the two figures get a total of three moves and three attacks), while still having only two figure's worth of HP, so these shenanigans will only last until the Rebels focus fire one of them down. And since you're putting 7xp worth of class cards into a single group, they have a very high incentive to do just that, and they will also have probably 6-7xp worth of abilities to help them do it. So I'm not sure it's all that imbalanced, really.

Ya and I tried that, and it worked good but at 8 health per it took me a loooong time to finally get both killed in a round, otherwise I could just re enforce for 4 each round trading off which one dies. Think about it, one activation to do 16 damage... to two figures, or I then get my free attack. The way I finally got it to work was to take them both to 1 health, then first activation use Gaarkhan to kill both. But while all this is going on I've got a probe droid along with multiple other deployments just blasting away at my heroes (including the free Imp through my other skills/agenda cards who I used to order the Heavy out of LOS to avoid double attacks). So ya, focus on them, but then you forget about the other Imps standing around. Oh and on top of all of that the Tuskans are reigning fire every round from up top. Like I said though it might have just been that combination that made it seem so broken.

I want to test it with elite Stormies, less health and easier to focus down but there is then another one there to pick up the reigns.

But on the reinforce, don't you run into a distance issue with the Orders?

I have been play testing the Twin Shadows imperial class as I want to run it in my next campaign and I have some questions regarding the abilities.

The stock skill is Field Officer which is an attachment that gives the unit the Order action. Field General is another attachment that gives a figure the Executive Order action. Lead by Example is a card that says After you resolve an Order or Executive Order, you may perform a move or move/attack (depending which you choose). As far as I can tell, there is no limit on attachments per group.

So here is the scenerio, I deploy a group of Elite Heavy Storm Troopers (EHST), I throw both FIeld Officer and Field General on them and I have Lead by Example face up in my play area..

Activate EHST:

A: Uses his first action to use Order to tell EHST B to move

B moves, this gives A a free move so he also moves

A: Uses his second action to use Executive Order, telling EHST B to attack Ally

B attacks Ally, this gives A a free attack so he also attacks Ally

A's actions are done

B then activates and attacks Ally, then still has a second action if he wants to use it, to move or interact or whatever.

Is this legit? I tested this last night with Canyon Run giving it to EHST and I couldn't even get my Rebels to the first Red before they were all wounded. I feel like I have to be doing something wrong and its so obvious I have just over looked it. Maybe it was just OP paired with a lot of lucky 8 range blue rolls from the Tuskans? Thanks in advance for correcting me.

Even better:

A orders B to move and gets to move himself.

A then shoots.

B-> shoots

B-> Executive Order A to shoot and then gets to shoot himself.

This works as the attack granted from Lead by example is not an attack given directly by an action and therefore does not count to the limit (I believe we have this as an official mail somewhere in the forum)

So you can get a move for both of them and then 4 attacks out of it.

I'm not sure that would be allowed, actually. As I recall the technical limitation is that a non-hero "may only use one of its actions to attack", and you could argue that using XO with LBE in play is "using an action to attack" (after ordering someone else to attack out of turn), and would thus be forbidden if you had already used your first action on a regular attack.

It's a little murky, though.

But on the reinforce, don't you run into a distance issue with the Orders?

I generally was able to park them in a situation where they would be within 2, and if not I just used any other Imperial Figure that was close as it isn't limited to just your group.

Ha, interesting, I never even saw that, now it is even more OP! And I don't think that is again't any rules? The attack is coming through a special action and as a result of a XP skill.

It definitely seems broken though, you're getting 2 free attacks each activation. Putting it on an elite version makes it really difficult for your opponent to kill him in one activation, especially if you have extra officers laying around to help keep LOS difficult for the heroes.

Edited by FrogTrigger

You get 2 additional attacks per round, but at a cost of 7 XP.

Just keep hoping the rebels do not find weapons with Stun.

It doesn't matter that it's a special action, you still can't use a "special action attack" and a "regular action attack" on the same activation as a non-hero.

Right so my original post is still accurate and stands.

This can be answered very easily, can an Elite Imperial Officer use Executive Order and attack in the same turn?

Yes.

/thread

Edited by FrogTrigger

But you don't use a special action to attack. You use a special action to grant someone an attack out of his activation. Then a passive effect of a game grants you an additional attack. It is even in the FAQ


Q: When a figure performs “Executive Order” and is granted an attack as a result of “Lead By Example,” can that figure still use its other action to perform an attack? A: Yes.

on page 5

Huh, well there you go, guess I should have read the FAQ!

Thanks Baer.

Lead by Example is a perfect example of an ability granting an attack that isn't an action, and thus does not count towards the 'attack action' limit.

Sustained Fire is another.

I stand corrected. So yeah, this combination is maybe a little more potent than I gave IL credit for. Given that it's still 7xp worth of stuff on a single group, I'm still not convinced it would be too OP; I'd have to see it in action compared to similarly skilled-up and equipped Rebels. But two extra attacks every round is nothing to sneeze at to be sure.

I stand corrected. So yeah, this combination is maybe a little more potent than I gave IL credit for. Given that it's still 7xp worth of stuff on a single group, I'm still not convinced it would be too OP; I'd have to see it in action compared to similarly skilled-up and equipped Rebels. But two extra attacks every round is nothing to sneeze at to be sure.

Lead by example isn't an attachment so gives value to all your officers as well (though personally I'd rather have the two attachments on separate groups).

And in a fatal funnel mission like canyon run, your rocking quad blast too, and that's like a chainsaw to the face.