Multiple damage dealing abilities for campaign and skirmish

By FrogTrigger, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

This is probably answered 100x over I even googled it and saw some threads but they contradict each other, I'd like to get a final answer on this.

Can Vader use Brutality and force choke in the same activation for campaign or skirmish? Or can he use regular attack and force choke?

My understanding is that if it doesn't have the word attack in the description, then it is not considered an attack. The flip side of the argument is that it just has to deal damage to be considered an attack?

Answer #101: Force Choke isn't an attack. So, yes. Vader can Brutality and then Force Choke in both campaign and skirmish.

Edited by Fizz

Force Choke is not an attack.

1) it does not contain the word attack

2) the target does not get to defend

3) it does not follow the steps of an attack.

Interesting, thanks. Are there any other examples of figures that can deal damage through multiple actions?

Chewbacca: Slam is not an attack

Elite Imperial Officer: Executive Order is not an attack (for the officer)

Bantha Rider: Trample is not an attack.

Shock Grenade, C22 Frag Grenade are not attacks.

Also, any ability that isn't an action but provides an attack does not count towards the non-hero limit of not being able to perform more than one action containing one or more attack per activation. (In the campaign attacks can come from from mission events or class cards such as Sustained Fire. Sustained Fire isn't an action, it just provides an attack.)

Edited by a1bert