Just got Black Goat of the Woods and we're wondering if corruption cards that instruct you to draw more corruption cards can cause a chain reaction. For example, I have Endless Greed and it gets triggered by a mythos card. As instructed, I draw another corruption card and see that it also has a symbol matching the current mythos card. Does this new corruption trigger right away, or is it not triggerable until the following mythos phase? We've been playing the former way, but it sure tends to fill up our hands with corruption cards quickly. Getting a one-turn breather before the newly-drawn cards are a liability would make a big difference.
BGOTW: Do corruption cards chain?
I have always played the latter way, that all monster movement technically happens simultaneously, triggering all corruption cards in play. The newly drawn cards are not in play when corruption cards are triggered. I'm not sure if that is correct, but that's what our group decided.
Also, on an unrelated note, if you're looking for a way to keep corruption cards in play even when not playing with the Black Goat of the Woods herald, draw them not matter what on a Dark Young monster. It seems to make the corruption cards much more alive even without the herald in play.
Same here: corruptions are triggered by monster movement, hence, at the moment you resolve the monster movement, you check the corruptions in play and you resolve them. If this leads to new corruptions entering play, they are not activated this time. Still, it's something that should be spelled out clearly in the rules
Thanks. We were playing League season 2, scenario 3, so started out with corruption in order to bank some clues. Managed a win despite allowing corruption to chain, but we got lucky and had some early gates that let us clear out the corruption cards in play before things got too crazy.
Julia's said what I've essentially thought. There is an immediate effect related to the monster movement phase, which is to move monsters and trigger other events.
Rifts from the Kingsport expansion move on certain monster movement triggers, but also spawn another monster: I felt that it was too late for those generated monsters to move; they would have to wait until subsequent Mythos phases. So that logic would apply to Corruption cards in the same way.