Here's the card...
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Set-For-Stun.jpg
Basically the question is, can this be used with blast to stun a whole block of rebel scum at once. I really want to like this agenda set.
Here's the card...
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Set-For-Stun.jpg
Basically the question is, can this be used with blast to stun a whole block of rebel scum at once. I really want to like this agenda set.
I would say no as the card specifically references the Target who takes damage. In blast, it inflicts damage against all those adjacent to the Target.
Fair enough.
Second question! Two cards...
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Perpetual-Reinforcements.jpg
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/To-The-Last-Man.jpg
The rules are very clear in the reference guide what "Reinforce" means. Perpetual Reinforcements does not actually reinforce, it deploys because of a separate mechanism (my understanding). Also the card says "after" the unit is defeated, not "immediately after" giving me a wide window to do other things.
So, can I use To The Last Man, then follow up with Perpetual Reinforcements?
It looks that way, but seems a costly way to keep one Stormtrooper in the game. I don't think the newly deployed figure would have To the Last Man benefits. Although Perpetual Reinforcements says to deploy the figure, once defeated all attachments, conditions, damage, and special abilities get removed. To me the text would need to have "instead of being defeated" for abilities to remain. You can still (re)attach attachment to the new deployment.
Fair enough.
Second question! Two cards...
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Perpetual-Reinforcements.jpg
http://boardwars.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/To-The-Last-Man.jpg
The rules are very clear in the reference guide what "Reinforce" means. Perpetual Reinforcements does not actually reinforce, it deploys because of a separate mechanism (my understanding). Also the card says "after" the unit is defeated, not "immediately after" giving me a wide window to do other things.
So, can I use To The Last Man, then follow up with Perpetual Reinforcements?
My opinion is that Perpetual Reinforcements counts as a reinforcement, albeit an out-of-sequence, zero cost, reinforcement. PR is targeting a figure in the group you played TTLM on, which states the group cannot be reinforced. Also note that the word "cannot" is unbreakable.
"Golden Rules", RRG, Page 2:
If a card or mission uses the word cannot, that effect is absolute and cannot be overridden by other effects.
Might be one to send an email on.
My opinion is that Perpetual Reinforcements counts as a reinforcement, albeit an out-of-sequence
I disagree. It doesn't say reinforce anywhere on the card text. The card is just named Perpetual Reinforcements. Still, I think it's quite obvious that the deployed trooper would not benefit from the effects of Last Man Standing.
I agree the extra trooper wouldn't get any bonuses, and its not something you would do if efficiency is the goal. This sort of thing is what I call a "stunt". A all stops out, burn resources for power, no holds maneuver.
Another one is the Rodian Gunslinger. Use Hired guns, Experimental Arms, and Failsafe. So long as you have a target and threat to spare, you can potentially attack three times and get three movement points with a single hired gun. That's a stunt. A ridiculously expensive attack.
As stated, that's just like.....my opinion...man.
I'd email this one out. See if that is the intention. I don't believe it is as it creates all sorts of wonkiness. (The "this models gets the bonus and this one in the same group does not")
Edited by FizzNote that the figure is no longer in the same group when it is redeployed. The deployment card technically leaves the table before the figure is redeployed. (I think by the rules you are even able to attach any free attachments to the figure's deployment card.)
From my experience, unless something is a literal game-breaker, you'll almost certainly get a rules-as-written ruling even if there is some corner case that works oddly. Even a game-breaker won't be fixed by a ruling alone, it will be fixed by an errata.
House-ruling is always a possibility.
The deployment card never left the table, in this case.
The deployment card never left the table, in this case.
Why wouldn't it?
Because the Trooper was the last figure of the group, the deployment card returns to the imperial player's hand when the figure if defeated. (See Defeated from RRG.)
Perpetual Reinforcements specifically says "Play it after a Trooper with figure cost of 3 is defeated. You may immediately deploy the defeated figure to any active deployment point."
Deploying the figure brings the deployment card back into play. (You can add attachments to deployment cards when they are deployed, why not in this case?)
Ok, let me clarify, Perpetual Reinforcements is designed to be used *before the last unit of a group is defeated. In this example, we have a group of Stormtroopers with 2 out if 3 troopers deceased. We play the Last Man Standing card, then play PR, adding a second trooper to the existing group without reinforcing the unit as per the RRG.
As the deployment group is still in play, where would the other deployment card come from?
Ah, now I see. What you were asking was to play BOTH To The Last Man and Perpetual Reinforcements at the same time! (Tricked by 'follow up with'.)
I was thinking of you playing To the Last Man first, and then when that figure is defeated use Perpetual Reinforcements.
Sorry about the mixup.
To be able to play both depends on the timings. It looks to me that the timing of To The Last Man (when you have 1 figure remaining) is after Perpetual Reinforcements (when a figure is defeated), but if out-of-activation timing might come to play you may be able to play the cards as interrupts. (My preferred interpretation however is that if you play To The Last Man first, you are past the when-defeated trigger and if you play Perpetual Reinforcements first, you now have 2 figures remaining, and can't use To The Last Man.)