So a tricky situation came up today. My trandoshan moved within 3 spaces and declared an attack, which as the hero had the maximum strain meant it took 1 damage. This alone would have made it wounded so then should I have attacked once the hero's card was flipped or just attack in the knowledge that it wouldn't make any difference? I only ask because I looked up 'attacking' in the rule reference and it split the attack into stages so assumed that as I hadn't rolled any dice the card should have been flipped first, then attacked. In the end we flipped a coin and the rebel escaped further punishment (I know the empire gets to decide conflicts but I'm far to kind to be ruling and empire).
Help would be appreciated, please and thank you.