Trandoshan trouble

By Pedder16, in Imperial Assault Campaign

So a tricky situation came up today. My trandoshan moved within 3 spaces and declared an attack, which as the hero had the maximum strain meant it took 1 damage. This alone would have made it wounded so then should I have attacked once the hero's card was flipped or just attack in the knowledge that it wouldn't make any difference? I only ask because I looked up 'attacking' in the rule reference and it split the attack into stages so assumed that as I hadn't rolled any dice the card should have been flipped first, then attacked. In the end we flipped a coin and the rebel escaped further punishment (I know the empire gets to decide conflicts but I'm far to kind to be ruling and empire).

Help would be appreciated, please and thank you.

Becoming wounded makes no difference. The valid declared target of the attack still exists even if the hero was wounded from Relentless. You only abort the attack if the figure gets removed from the board (a non-hero is defeated or hero is withdrawn or incapacitated) and can't be attacked or you no longer have line of sight.

(But note that if a hero is wounded during his own activation, the activation ends immediately.)

Edited by a1bert

Normally all damage is added up and if it exceeds the hero's health, the remainder is chopped off and the hero flips.

The question I think is, if the hero takes enough damage from the overstrain from the ability, would the hero flip and the actual attack do damage to the wounded side, or is the strain *part of the attack, and the damage dice just be extra damage that would be ignored and removed when the hero flipped.

Correct me if I misunderstood you, Pedder16.

Edited by Sam Tomahawk

Relentless is a separate ability that gives strain as soon as the attack is declared. (There is also no strain pool that keeps strain until it is applied.)

So, if I'm understanding this correct.

1. Trandoshan declares his attack on Mak (He has a health of 10, if I remember right)

2. Mak, having full strain already, converts the one strain to damage.

3. That brings his damage to 10, flipping him *immediately.

4. The trandoshan proceeds with his attack, rolling dice, and scoring (in this example) 3 damage.

5. That damage is now placed on Mak's wounded side, giving him full strain and 3 damage total.

Yes. In addition, in step 3 Mak discards all damage he has suffered and any strain he has suffered that is above the new endurance value.

You can also argue that Relentless triggers when Trandoshan declares the target, which is the same timing as starting the attack, so Relentless - having the same trigger - naturally happens before the attack. (Note: You can spend an action to perform an attack. You can perform attacks also using abilities that do not require actions. So, the attack itself starts with declare target. You are not yet "during attack" when you spend the action.) (Mission rules first, then abilities.)

In my opinion and interpretation.

Edited by a1bert

Cool, was just trying to help the original poster, who may or may not have wandered off, lol

(But note that if a hero is wounded during his own activation, the activation ends immediately.)

Is there a way to achieve this without getting strains from moving past Boba?

I guess there are some campaign mission events that can trigger during a hero activation, but most of them don't deal damage.

Bleed and being upto your endurance. (Yes, it was a dumb mistake, but did happen.)

Edited by a1bert

Yes you guys had the situation correct. Thank you for clarifying. I'm having to be the rebels next time so this will please the new emporer.