General Weiss - Chain of Command

By sn00p16, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hey guys,

So last night I was playing Chain of Command with a buddy of mine (I was Imperial, he was Rebels) and we got to the end of round 2 and triggered "Vulnerable". During the next round, before I could get Weiss to his ride, my buddy was convinced that the disabled AT-ST shouldn't be able to roll defense dice.

We couldn't find any information, so I rolled defense dice, and he ended up winning the mission anyways, but I'd be interested to see if anyone else thinks that a disabled unit wouldn't be able to roll defense dice.

I imagined that the dice are for the armor, as I can't imagine an AT-ST actively moving to block shots, and as such would still be valid.

The AT-ST is inactive (and although the mission rules are ambiguous, it is not intended to get an activation), but it is still a figure.

Nothing suggests that a target figure would not get to roll for defense whether it is inactive, already activated, or stunned, bleeding or any other combination. Unless the mission rules specifies otherwise, the steps of an attack defines that the defender rolls defense dice remaining in their defense pool.

Chain of Command is relatively easy for the rebels already. If the AT-ST didn't have any defense, the mission would be a coffee and cake run for them.

Edited by a1bert

Don't forget in some mission the terminals get to roll defense dice. When we did the mission I Did as you and rolled defense. It is easy to point out that the thing has armor to protect it. just like being stunned and still rolling a defense die.

My group lost the mission though, They did blow up the inactive ATST but dragged their feet about coming after Weiss. I just ran back and kept spawning troops. The figured that had unlimited rounds and could wait. I just rushed and wounded them with concentrated fire.

If you need to go against Mak with No Escape and Execute (and Pulse Cannon), and it could be over in no time.

Here's my question. Is the ATST a unit? Not really., I'm pretty sure its just a prop at that point. Can it even be legally targeted for attack?

Here's my question. Is the ATST a unit? Not really., I'm pretty sure its just a prop at that point. Can it even be legally targeted for attack?

The mission rules do state that although it cannot move or attack, it can be attacked.

Here's my question. Is the ATST a unit? Not really., I'm pretty sure its just a prop at that point. Can it even be legally targeted for attack?

The mission rules do state that although it cannot move or attack, it can be attacked.