Playing Command cards.

By TryerImp, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Am I correct in thinking the follow is doable.

At the start of the round play the following card.

SET A TRAP - 1 figure on the selected tile can interrupt to attack another figure on the same tile at the end of the round.

At the end of a round you play the following cards,

FEROCITY - Choose 1 creature to make an attack

JUNDLAND TERROR - Select either a Tuskan Raider or Bantha to move 2 squares and interrupt to attack or Trample

Can I get a Bantha to attack with (SET A TRAP) then, Use OPPORTUNISTIC to gain 3 movement (if damage caused) to move on top of a figure/s causing 1 damage from Stampede. Then use CRUSH (When end movement on top of a figure to give 4 damage to 1 figure). Then, Use FEROCITY to attack again and then finally use JUNDLAND TERROR to move 2 squares (hopefully causing 1 damage from being on top of a figure) then use Trample for a red die attack.

As they are all different there is nothing to say no in the book under Command Cards and since each attack if an interrupt from its own card can this be done. Would take some positioning but could certainly do a lot of damage if workable. Or am I waaaaaay off in my thinking??

Okay, so there is a lot of stuff going on.

First one is about timing. If you have several things activating at the same time (such as those from your different cards) you decide the other of those. So far so good.

Second one is about movement of massive figures in general. Usually you can only stop on top of other figures with a massive figure once in your activation. I would argue, however, that since the different bursts of movement here are not part of a single activation, but rather a string of interrupts, that shouldn't be a limitation either. So far so good.

Thirdly, good luck lining up all those cards in your hand at the same time, but if you do, pity on the enemies trampled underneath your onslaught. :)

As long as it could be done that's the main thing.

That's what I was thinking regarding the movement. As its activation has finished the movement comes at the end of the round via the 2 cards as interrupts, as you say, and an interrupt is not that models activation.

It would be nice if it worked just to see their face as it happens. lol

While this is definitely a hard to pull off all of it combo, I don't see anything in it that shouldn't work. I've been doing a lot of looking into ways to make the Bantha do as much damage as possible and all of these should work. And you don't have to lay down all the cards at one time and then work through the timings, just play them as each one resolves. Do the trap at the end of the round. Play that opportunistic and stampede! Then crunch! You get the idea.

It will definitely be rare to get all those cards at once, but even just one or two of them goes a long way to making that Bantha wreck people. I assume, and it's probably a huge assumption this early so feel free to disagree, that my Bantha needs to get 2 stampedes and 2 tramples to be doing it's base line job. So to be able to throw in just 1 more stampede and 1 trample made it 50% more value. I like to see if I can pull off 21 unmitigated damage in a game with my bantha - if that happens you can almost guarantee you got your points worth. And it's not too hard if you run him in at the end on some guys you've blasted with sabs or you've cleaved with elite nexu or punched with some tuskens. Use the Bantha to "Finish Him!"

I have one question though:

Is it legal to play two jundland terrors right after each other or do you have to play them on different rounds? I would argue there's nothing that says you can't play them back to back. But I definitely want to know if there is some rule out there like "you can't play a command card with the same name twice in a round" or something like that.

It mentions that you cant play the same card from the same trigger, ie 'End of Round' so they have to be played over 2 rounds.

I tried that in a game as I had only skimmed the rules and not read them as wanted to get straight into playing it and got picked up for it, but if I hadn't been I would of thought it to be ok. :)

It mentions that you cant play the same card from the same trigger, ie 'End of Round' so they have to be played over 2 rounds.

I tried that in a game as I had only skimmed the rules and not read them as wanted to get straight into playing it and got picked up for it, but if I hadn't been I would of thought it to be ok. :)

I went ahead and read command cards in the RRG, go figure, it does say in bullet 5

"A player cannot play multiple copies of the same command card at the same time. For example, if a card provides '+2 accuracy' the player cannot play two copies of the card to gain +4 accuracy for one attack."

I'd agree with you that playing two Jundland Terror's in the same "end of the round" wouldn't work. UNLESS, what that rule is ONLY talking about is playing two cards with the same name at the exact same time. It doesn't say "turn phase" or anything specifically. Theoretically, one Jundland Terror is played and fully resolves, then you could play the second one and it's not at the same time - same phase yes, but that's not mentioned, same time no, they are played completely independently of each other. The RRG doesn't specifically mention "trigger" in the command card heading and "trigger" doesn't seem to be a key word.

I'd be very interested to get an official answer from FFG on this one.

Wait ... does that mean, that a player can't play 2 Reinforcements in the same turn?

Yes, you cannot play 2 Reinforcements on the same turn.

Wait ... does that mean, that a player can't play 2 Reinforcements in the same turn?

Yes, you cannot play 2 Reinforcements on the same turn.

Wow, that can make a huge difference if correct.

Wait ... does that mean, that a player can't play 2 Reinforcements in the same turn?

You cannot play 2 reinforcements on the same turn.

People are making it harder than it needs to be. Think of each thing as a trigger.

Start of Turn each players gets a turn to play as many start of turn cards / effects as they like / can. BUT, since it is just one trigger 'start of turn', you can only play one of that specific card.

"A player cannot play multiple copies of the same command card at the same time. For example, if a card provides '+2 accuracy' the player cannot play two copies of the card to gain +4 accuracy for one attack."

This means per timing instance, ie: during a single attack, you cannot play two of the same card to affect the same timing instance.

Nothing else stops you from playing the same card twice . Once the card is played, you resolve it and move on.

Start of turn:

Player 1 plays card 1

Resolve card 1

Player 1 plays card 2

Resolve card 2

Player 1 plays card 3

Resolve card 3

Not:

Start of turn

Player 1 plays card 1, 2, and 3

Resolve card 1

Resolve card 2

Resolve card 3

Edited by Fizz

"A player cannot play multiple copies of the same command card at the same time. For example, if a card provides '+2 accuracy' the player cannot play two copies of the card to gain +4 accuracy for one attack."

This means per timing instance, ie: during a single attack, you cannot play two of the same card to affect the same timing instance.

Nothing else stops you from playing the same card twice. Once the card is played, you resolve it and move on.

Start of turn:

Player 1 plays card 1

Resolve card 1

Player 1 plays card 2

Resolve card 2

Player 1 plays card 3

Resolve card 3

Not:

Start of turn

Player 1 plays card 1, 2, and 3

Resolve card 1

Resolve card 2

Resolve card 3

So you can play two Jundland Terror's in one turn or two Reinforcements?

That's the way I thought the RRG was wording it only preventing you from playing the same command card during an attack or defense or something similar. Not during an entire activation or phase of the turn.

Wait ... does that mean, that a player can't play 2 Reinforcements in the same turn?

You cannot play 2 reinforcements on the same turn.

People are making it harder than it needs to be. Think of each thing as a trigger.

Start of Turn each players gets a turn to play as many start of turn cards / effects as they like / can. BUT, since it is just one trigger 'start of turn', you can only play one of that specific card.

End of the round is the trigger for Jundland terror so you cant play both of them in same round. You don't play one, then play the other afterwards. Same with start of round trigger for Reinforcements. There are not 2 'start of a round' You cant start a round twice its either started or it hasn't. So you cant use 2 of the reinforcement cards as you can only play 1 of the same card from the same trigger.

I went ahead and submitted the question, if "end of round" counts as a single timing instance for things like Jundland Terror and Reinforcements, with the added caveat of: "What if you had two Bantha Riders each wanting to use Jundland Terror or units of Troopers wanting to Reinforce".

Edited by Fizz

I don't think having multiple units wanting to play the same card would matter, but since your asking anyway, doesn't hurt.

Would this be legal (Bantha Rider):

1) Beast Tamer (Free move)

At this point you execute your move and enter the spaces of 2 figures
2) Crush (4 dmg to one small figure)

3) Stampede the 2 figures

4) Trample (Action: red die dmg) - They are all dead now so no one in base to base

5) Urgency (Action: Speed +2)

6) To the Limit (Gain an +1 Action then stunned)

7) Fleet Footed (1 move point)

Move to engage another figure(s) and enter its(their) space(s)

8) Stampede the figures

9) Use Action from TTL to Trample figures
10) Gain Stunned

Would this be legal (Bantha Rider):

1) Beast Tamer (Free move)

At this point you execute your move and enter the spaces of 2 figures

2) Crush (4 dmg to one small figure)

3) Stampede the 2 figures

4) Trample (Action: red die dmg) - They are all dead now so no one in base to base

5) Urgency (Action: Speed +2)

6) To the Limit (Gain an +1 Action then stunned)

7) Fleet Footed (1 move point)

Move to engage another figure(s) and enter its(their) space(s)

8) Stampede the figures

9) Use Action from TTL to Trample figures

10) Gain Stunned

No, because if a Massive figure ends it movement on another figure (triggering stampede), it cannot move anymore during its own activation.

Step 5 and 7 would be illegal (though you could technically play the cards, you just couldn't move), but you could To The Limit and Trample(Step 9) again. Step 8 would not trigger.

Edited by Fizz

"Step 5 and 7 would be illegal (though you could technically play the cards, you just couldn't move), but you could To The Limit and Trample(Step 9) again. Step 8 would not trigger."

Can you trample twice in the same activation without playing the single purpose command card?

I thought you can only use a special action once per activation.

Edited by Masterchiefspiff

You can only use each special action once per activation. You can use different special actions during your activation.

You could use cards to move as its not movement. You stop when you land on someone, so cant use 2nd action to move. A card could then move you as the card is not an action. If you are stunned then you cant move, card no no card. Which sucks as Beast tamer cant be used to gain a 3rd move as it is used at the start of your turn to gain the move, so lose 1st action (free) then your normal action would be to remove the 'Stun' (allowing movement/attacks) then last action being move/trample/attack.

Once a massive figure ends movement on top of at least one figure, it can't move during the same activation. Sure, it can perform the move action to gain movement points (you can do that even if stunned), but it can't spend movement points to move, whether they are from the move action or from a special action, nor move in other ways.

RRG, Massive:

· After a Massive figure ends its movement in spaces containing
at least one other figure, the Massive figure cannot move any
more during this activation.

"Step 5 and 7 would be illegal (though you could technically play the cards, you just couldn't move), but you could To The Limit and Trample(Step 9) again. Step 8 would not trigger."

Can you trample twice in the same activation without playing the single purpose command card?

I thought you can only use a special action once per activation.

Good catch. Single purpose allows you to use Trample again, To The Limit, does not.

Okay, thanks for the feedback. Revised:

1) Beast Tamer (Free move)

2) Urgency (Action: Speed +2)

This gives 12 move points or 7 so far?

At this point you execute your move using some but not all of move points to enter the spaces adjacent to 2 figures
3) Trample (Action: red die dmg) - They are all dead now so no one in base to base

4) Fleet Footed (1 move point)

Move to engage another figure(s) and enter its(their) space(s) using rest of move points

5) Stampede the 2 figures

6) Crush (4 dmg to one small figure)

7) To the Limit (Gain +1 Action then stunned)

8) Normal Attack Action

9) Gain Stunned

Also, I take it you can always move using some of your move points to adjacent, Trample , Normal attack, then finish using up your points to move into those figures space to then Stampede . Yes?

Edited by Khan77

2) Movement points gained by Urgency must be spent immediately because it is a special action. You have 5 MP stored, plus 7 MP that have to be spent independently of those 5, see the FAQ post for that ruling:

Urgency: Any movement points gained during Urgency must be spent as part of that action since they were gained from a special action. The movement points are not added to a pool that can be spent and divided throughout the activation.

Source: Paul Winchester, Creative Content Developer

So it will depend on where you move and where you end your move to take another action and/or stampede.

I would pull TTL out.

1) Beast Tamer (free move)

2) Single Purpose (Same Special Action up to 2x)

3) Move (trying not to trigger Stampede)

4) ╔► Trample (red die vs adjacent)

5) Opportunistic (3 free movement) Try to trigger Stampede

6) ╔► Trample (red die vs adjacent)

7) Crush (4 Damage vs small)

Wait until end of round and:

8) Jundland Terrror (Move up to 2, trigger Stampede if possible, then ╔► Trample again)

I did this (without the crush) and was able to hit 5 models for varing amounts of unmitigated damage (between 3-9 depending how many times they got trampled/stampeded)

Edited by Fizz

2) Movement points gained by Urgency must be spent immediately because it is a special action. You have 5 MP stored, plus 7 MP that have to be spent independently of those 5, see the FAQ post for that ruling:

Urgency: Any movement points gained during Urgency must be spent as part of that action since they were gained from a special action. The movement points are not added to a pool that can be spent and divided throughout the activation.

Source: Paul Winchester, Creative Content Developer

So it will depend on where you move and where you end your move to take another action and/or stampede.

I would pull TTL out.

1) Beast Tamer (free move)

2) Single Purpose (Same Special Action up to 2x)

3) Move (trying not to trigger Stampede)

4) Trample (red die vs adjacent)

5) Opportunistic (3 free movement) Try to trigger Stampede

6) Trample (red die vs adjacent)

7) Crush (4 Damage vs small)

Wait until end of round and:

8) Jundland Terrror (Move up to 2, trigger Stampede if possible, then Trample again)

I did this (without the crush) and was able to hit 5 models for varing amounts of unmitigated damage (between 3-9 depending how many times they got trampled/stampeded)

Isn't Trample being procced 3 times here instead of 2? (4, 6 and 8) And Stampede twice? (5 and 8)

Does Single Purpose allow for multiple Special Actions to be used twice or just one?

Does "end of round" negate the point of only being able to perform a given special action once an activation? Are you saying that since "end of round" is in the Status Phase SAs performed during at that time don't count toward the number performed in the Activation Phase?

Thanks again!