Playing Command cards.

By TryerImp, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Yes, yes you are. And this is exactly why people don't like Banthas. With the right cards and timing, you can absolutely devastate your opponent with a massive amount of unmitigated damage, and they are all but powerless to stop you, aside from keeping their distance and focus firing until the bantha is dead.

You are getting two Stampedes (once during the activation and once during Jundland Terror) and three Tramples (two during the activation, and one more at the end of the round from Jundland Terror.

Single Purpose says "up to twice during the activation" and it applies to ANY special action, you get to choose which one when you decide to use it.

Jundland Terror happens outside of the activation, so it does not restrict another use of Stampede (since the rule on Massive movement is "during its activation") or Trample (Jundland Terror allows the Bantha to make another attack or ╔►, outside activation).

Edited by Fizz

New Orders...Bantha double activation in one round :)

Wish I had thought of that one before my store championship this past Saturday not that it made a difference. The bantha still wrecked as intended.

Edited by Masterchiefspiff

I will say this though....pouring firepower into an activated bantha is still a great counter. The problem is, how do you do it SAFELY?

so lose 1st action (free) then your normal action would be to remove the 'Stun' (allowing movement/attacks) then last action being move/trample/attack.

Not correct. Beast Tamer action = Move action: Gain movement points; 1st regular action: unstun; then use movement points; then move/trample/attack.

"A player cannot play multiple copies of the same command card at the same time. For example, if a card provides '+2 accuracy' the player cannot play two copies of the card to gain +4 accuracy for one attack."

This means per timing instance, ie: during a single attack, you cannot play two of the same card to affect the same timing instance.

Nothing else stops you from playing the same card twice. Once the card is played, you resolve it and move on.

Start of turn:

Player 1 plays card 1

Resolve card 1

Player 1 plays card 2

Resolve card 2

Player 1 plays card 3

Resolve card 3

Not:

Start of turn

Player 1 plays card 1, 2, and 3

Resolve card 1

Resolve card 2

Resolve card 3

Message from:

Jimmy Repine

Rules Question:

Can you play 2 reinforcements at the start of your turn?

Hi Jimmy,

No you cannot. Only 1 copy of each Command card can be played at one time.

Thanks!

Paul Winchester

Game Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

[email protected]

Yep, i just got the same response, even with the added caveat of a second eligible unit.

Specifically, that the "end of round" and "start of round" are considered a single timing instance.

Edited by Fizz

I didn't think number of units would matter. From what I've read and seen of rulings, it appears that Start of the Round / Turn is a trigger and not a step. So, anything played would be in response to that one trigger.

Glad to have that cleared up as I'm sure it will come up in tourney's that I go to.

Can you play several but different start/end of round cards? like take initiative, set a trap and reinforcements or close the gap? Or the single timing instance lets you play only one?

Can you play several but different start/end of round cards? like take initiative, set a trap and reinforcements or close the gap? Or the single timing instance lets you play only one?

Yes, you can play several different cards. The restriction is only on playing multiples of the same card.