Navigators and Held In My Gaze

By zarafein, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

The Navigator power Held In My Gaze seems to suggest in the fluff that this power freezes a target (Psychic or not) in place, stopping them from moving out of that space but in the rules bit it says that if the target moves out of range that the power ends.

1) Can this power affect non-demons / psykers?

2) Does it stop them from moving out of their space?

3) If it does freeze them in place, can they make an opposed willpower test to break free and move?

One of my players wants to take this power and I am not sure what to tell him.

Cheers

I would assume that the "moving out of range" would apply should the victim be on a truck, or in a car or ship or something. Basically they can't move, but other things can.

I agree with Millanson. The target could be moved out of range, rather than moving. Also note the target can possibly use psychic powers, some of which could theoretically be used to move the target as well.

So, the consensus seems to be that it does literally freeze the target in place and it works on psykers, daemons and everybody else.

The way that I am going to interpret this power is that it literally freezes the target if they fail the opposed willpower roll but that each turn they get a chance to break out of it by making an opposed willpower roll.

The book seems to suggest that you only get this roll if you are a psyker and only if you want to use a psychic power. I think that this would be a little unbalancing so I will allow anyone to make this roll to break the power.

It's still a very powerful power and presents some GM'ing difficulties.