Return to Echo Base question (spoilers)

By Lifey, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Was just skimming the campaign guide for this mission, and saw, under "Armed and Operational":

"Once per activation, a hero can interact with the ... When he does, he tests [insight] and [Engineering]. Prior to the test, the imperial player can choose to spend 2 threat to apply -1 surge to the results. For each success rolled ..."

I haven't seen this particular phrase used in any other mission -- how does a hero test both Insight and Engineering simultaneously? Normally the hero has a choice, but this is very clearly an *and* and not an *or*. Does this mean:

1. They roll the full pool for both dice in one go, and count total successes?

2. The hero does two consecutive tests? If so, why does the mission text only refer to it as if it's a single test, with "Prior to the test..."

3. Maybe this a typo, and should say " or " ?

Never got to that point when I was the rebels...that mission is heavily weighted against the Rebels in my opinion...

My group thought of it like this, it says to test Insight AND Engineering. We agreed that it was the #2 option of yours. For one interact action you use both in the order that you deem, Insight then Engineering or Engineering then Insight. The reason the text says Prior to the test, is that the Imperial can choose not to spend the two threat on one of the rolls. If you have a terrible dice pool for the test he can save the threat for the test which you have a decent dice pool. Looking at you Saska for the Engineering test.

Another question. In my campaign we decided that each surge was a success.

So one given hero rolled 3 successes on Insight, and 2 successes on Tech, netting him 5 damage tokens.

Was this a correct interpretation?

"Attribute Tests", RRG, Page 7:

  • Each (surge) rolled is a success .

For each success (surge) rolled, the Imperial player claims 1 damage token.

5 Successes? 5 Damage Tokens

As worded right now, I would treat this as two separate tests, where the Imperial player could spend 2 threat per test to cancel a surge.

That said, we should get some clarification on this because there are several points where a typo drastically changes what is happening here.

I'm pretty sure its option 1 in the op. The book consistently says "The test" as opposed to "each test" or "the tests" and FFG has a history of not spelling out everything in their rule sets.

Just to be sure, I've submitted an official question, and will update this thread when I get a response.

Indeed, alternative 1 is the official ruling. (verified by Paul from FFG)

"In this scenario, both test pools should be combined for a single test."

I am about to play this mission and saw that thanks for the input. I was rebels once on this mission and we won barley because mak got like 8 successes in two rolls with only tech.