Had a couple of disagreements come up in some Skirmish games tonight and am looking for some answers. Actual rulebook or FAQ citations would be ideal, but just opinions are welcome as well.
The first involves the command card "Element of Surprise"
Use when you declare an attack. If the target figure did not have line of sight to you at the start of your activation, remove 1 die from its defense pool.
The question was whether an "activation" refers to the deployment card or the specific figure. The other player use a trooper to open a door, then played Element of Surprise when the second trooper attacked, reasoning that the second trooper did not have LoS to my figure when he activated the card. I argued that you activate each figure independently and that you would have to not have LoS when the particular figure activated. An independent observer agreed with the other guy, so we gave it to him. The rulebook at various times seems to use the terms "activate" or "activation" to refer to both.
The other question was about the command card "Meditation"
=>: During your next activation you may perform 1 additional action.
Can you use that extra action to make an additional attack during your activation? I was pretty sure that you can't, but the guy I was playing insisted that you could, that the card makes no sense otherwise, and cited a ruling on "Lord of the Sith",
Use during your activation. For each hostile figure defeated during this activation, you may perform 1 additional action.
that THOSE actions can be used to make extra attacks to justify it.
So, anyone got a rules citation for either of these?
Edited by Forgottenlore