questions about sacrifice

By PlasTicX, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Hi

I have a 2 questions

1) I have Captain Markis on a planet with Coteaz a some other AM units. Can I sacrifice one unit to activate both actions on Markis and Coteaz? Or I have to sacrifice one unit to use action on Markis and sacrifice second unit to get +3ATK on Coteaz.

2) I have Coteaz, his Henchmen and Guadsman token on planet. My opponent doesn't have ranged. I use Preemptive Barrage on them. So they got ranged. My opponent doesn't have any. I attack with token, sacrifice him, attack with Coteaz, attack with Henchmen, sacrifice Henchmen- ready Coteaz and get +3ATK on Coteaz. Is Coteaz still ranged or not? Note: after Henchmen complete its attack there is no ready ranged unit. but sacrificing them, make Coteaz ready.

1. In each case, the sacrifice is a cost of the ability. Since the abilities are initiated separately, their costs have to be paid separately. You cannot pay the cost of the two different abilities with a single sacrifice. Essentially,if the candy and the soda each cost $1, you cannot buy both with the same dollar.

2. Preemptive Barrage gives the chosen units "Ranged" until the end of the phase . Coteaz will be Ranged until you get to the Headquarters phase. The question really want the answer to, probably, is "When does the ranged skirmish end?"

That answer can be found in the flowchart on page 22 of the RRG. Checking for the end of the Ranged skirmish - which happens if there are no ready Ranged units - is a specific spot on the timing chart. And there is an Action Window between that spot and the last combat turn by a ranged unit. So, assuming you used Coteaz's ability to sacrifice the Henchman's ability in that window, Coteaz would ready, still with the ranged keyword and still able to take another combat turn during the ranged skirmish.

Thank you

ktom, on 04 Feb 2016 - 4:55 PM, said:

1. In each case, the sacrifice is a cost of the ability. Since the abilities are initiated separately, their costs have to be paid separately. You cannot pay the cost of the two different abilities with a single sacrifice. Essentially,if the candy and the soda each cost $1, you cannot buy both with the same dollar.

2. Preemptive Barrage gives the chosen units "Ranged" until the end of the phase . Coteaz will be Ranged until you get to the Headquarters phase. The question really want the answer to, probably, is "When does the ranged skirmish end?"

That answer can be found in the flowchart on page 22 of the RRG. Checking for the end of the Ranged skirmish - which happens if there are no ready Ranged units - is a specific spot on the timing chart. And there is an Action Window between that spot and the last combat turn by a ranged unit. So, assuming you used Coteaz's ability to sacrifice the Henchman's ability in that window, Coteaz would ready, still with the ranged keyword and still able to take another combat turn during the ranged skirmish.

But how does one or more copies of Holy Fusillade affect this situation?

But how does one or more copies of Holy Fusillade affect this situation?

This specific situation with the 3 units? Not at all because it is all happening within a single Ranged skirmish.

That said, Holy Fusillade combines quite nicely with Preemptive Barrage because the units given Ranged by the event keep it for the entire phase - so they will still have Ranged when you get to the next combat round. If you use HF to create a second Ranged skirmish at the beginning of the next combat round, the units you used the event on earlier will still be able to participate without needing a second event. That's ultimately not too useful in this specific situation (since you have already sacrificed 2 or the 3 you gave Ranged to), but it's nice to know the Holy Fusillade/Preemptive Barrage combo is out there to abuse.

Theoretically, I suppose you could refrain from sacrificing the Henchman to ready Coteaz and get a 4th attack in the first Ranged skirmish, leaving you with 2 units for the second Ranged skirmish (created by HF, assuming they both make it to the beginning of the next combat round), but that's more of a play choice than a change in the original situation. I'm thinking that most situations would prefer as many attacks in the first ranged skirmish as possible, but who knows?

Edited by ktom
ktom, on 05 Feb 2016 - 03:18 AM, said:

Ash_Durant, on 04 Feb 2016 - 11:44 PM, said:

But how does one or more copies of Holy Fusillade affect this situation?

This specific situation with the 3 units? Not at all because it is all happening within a single Ranged skirmish.

That said, Holy Fusillade combines quite nicely with Preemptive Barrage because the units given Ranged by the event keep it for the entire phase - so they will still have Ranged when you get to the next combat round. If you use HF to create a second Ranged skirmish at the beginning of the next combat round, the units you used the event on earlier will still be able to participate without needing a second event. That's ultimately not too useful in this specific situation (since you have already sacrificed 2 or the 3 you gave Ranged to), but it's nice to know the Holy Fusillade/Preemptive Barrage combo is out there to abuse.

Theoretically, I suppose you could refrain from sacrificing the Henchman to ready Coteaz and get a 4th attack in the first Ranged skirmish, leaving you with 2 units for the second Ranged skirmish (created by HF, assuming they both make it to the beginning of the next combat round), but that's more of a play choice than a change in the original situation. I'm thinking that most situations would prefer as many attacks in the first ranged skirmish as possible, but who knows?

I noticed more cards are coming out that encourage you to think out of the box when it comes to combo's.

Guess that is why my love for this game keeps on growing ;)