1) Can you Pounce as your first action (with its built in attack), then attack as your second?
2) Can you Pounce "through" walls?
Ability: Pounce
No to both.
Any ability that requires counting or within spaces means count spaces as if a figure were moving to that space ignoring additional costs for opposing figures and difficult terrain.
A figure can only attack once unless an ability specifically overrides this.
No to both.
Any ability that requires counting or within spaces means count spaces as if a figure were moving to that space ignoring additional costs for opposing figures and difficult terrain.
A figure can only attack once unless an ability specifically overrides this.
Exactly. I believe the RRG calls out Pounce specifically as an ability that cannot be used in tandem with another attack.
Conversely, the text on the E-Web Engineer card specifically mentions that they CAN attack twice while activated, and more specifically, can EITHER attack twice OR move twice.
An ability that gives damage is not an attack, so a figure can deal damage, and then attack. But if the ability includes the word "Attack" then it is an attack for all intents and purposes, and counts against the attack limitations.
An ability that gives damage is not an attack, so a figure can deal damage, and then attack. But if the ability includes the word "Attack" then it is an attack for all intents and purposes, and counts against the attack limitations.
Yup.
I think in the same section that calls out the Nexu's Pounce and Vader's Brutality as abilities that cannot be used in tandem with regular attacks, it also points out that Force Choke CAN be used in tandem with regular attacks based on the logic you just used. The word "attack" is not included in the Force Choke ability description.
So Vader COULD Force Choke and attack or Force Choke and Brutality. But Vader COULD NOT Brutality and attack. And of course he could not attack and attack.
But if the ability includes the word "Attack" then it is an attack for all intents and purposes, and counts against the attack limitations.
Not actually true (I'm being pedantic here but I feel justified in doing so given that this wording would actually result in some incorrect rulings with mechanics that could conceivably be added to the game). It only counts as an attack if it involves the figure performing an attack.
For instance pounce uses the word 'may'; if one chooses not to attack as part of pounce then the figure can attack using another action in the same activation (I can't think of an application for this but (skirmish) Gaarkahn's charge has the same wording and can be used to provide ignore movement point costs for terrain and hostile figures after attacking). There's an email from Paul somewhere on the forum confirming this but I don't remember exactly where.
Additional Question to Pounce:
Can I jump like this - count 3 spaces and then place the figure touching the target space?
[_] [ N ][ N ] [X] [X] [ N ] [ N ] [T] [_]
[_] [ N ] [ N ] [X] [X] [ N ] [ N ] [_] [_]
N = Nexu start Location
N = Nexu after Pounce Location
X = figures
T = Target I want to attack
Edited by thePREdigerAdditional Question to Pounce:
Can I jump like this - count 3 spaces and then place the figure touching the target space?
[_] [ N ][ N ] [X] [X] [ N ] [ N ] [T] [_]
[_] [ N ] [ N ] [X] [X] [ N ] [ N ] [_] [_]
N = Nexu start Location
N = Nexu after Pounce Location
X = figures
T = Target I want to attack
Based on the movement example on page 27 in RRG if say yes. The lower green N closest to the original Nexu spot is just 3 spaces away and empty (corresponding to space "11" in the example) and the example shows and explains the the Nexu pounce allows you to place the model relative to that space while containing it
"When a large figure is placed, either by deployment or an ability such as “Pounce,” locate a space (11) indicated by deployment or the ability. One space of the large figure's base is placed in the located space, and the remainder of its base may be placed in any orientation relative to that space (12), following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing do figures)."
My understanding of counting spaces and large based figures also say that yes, that is possible.
Pick a space of your choice from the ones the Nexu occupies. Count 3 spaces from it, place Nexu so that one of its spaces enter that space. Note that you can't count through blocking spaces or blocking edges for Pounce, although Nexu could move through those with Mobile.
Pounce sometimes gets the Nexu further than 6 movement points could get it (even being Mobile). I have done that in Sympathy of the Rebellion. In Imperial Hospitality I used Pounce without the attack to get the Nexu away without triggering Mak's Disengage.
I used Pounce without the attack to get the Nexu away without triggering Mak's Disengage.
That's friggin brilliant
Pick a space of your choice from the ones the Nexu occupies. Count 3 spaces from it, place Nexu so that one of its spaces enter that space. Note that you can't count through blocking spaces or blocking edges for Pounce, although Nexu could move through those with Mobile.
Pounce sometimes gets the Nexu further than 6 movement points could get it (even being Mobile). I have done that in Sympathy of the Rebellion. In Imperial Hospitality I used Pounce without the attack to get the Nexu away without triggering Mak's Disengage.
I don't understand. How does the attack matter for disengage? Either you enter a space within three spaces of Mak or you do not, and when the nexu pounces, it enters a square before the attack triggers. Did you use pounce to get 3 spaces away from Mak, thus skipping the two spaces in between and not triggering disengage?
Yes, I used Pounce to get away.
Being a placement, Pounce does not cause the Nexu to enter any of the intervening spaces that could trigger Disengage , while normal movement would. Not being able to attack was just a consequence of using Pounce to get away.
Edited by a1bertOoo just reread the rules for the placement of large figures (or pounce) (p27 RRG) and im reading it that any Large figure can have part of its base outside of the deployment area as long as the chosen square is covered by its base. This will usually mean 2 squares in the case of Nexu, Repulser Tank, Bantha and 1 square for the E-Web and Wampa. with the remaing parts of the base outside of the deployment area.
Is this correct or am I grasping at straws? Might make moving to cover objectives a bit easier if it is correct.
Yes, the large figure must enter the closest valid space to any active deployment point (one of the spaces of the figure). You can orient the figure any way you like as long as the placement is valid for the figure.
Deploying for example 3 troopers in a suitable way first can allow you to place the Nexu 2 (and 3) spaces from the deployment point.
Edited by a1bert