Cleave and surge

By Rowdy Whaleback, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello folks,

I'm fairly new to skirmish games and so on. So I can't make sense of what many of you might find simple.

I bought SWIA to play with my family. One of my sons plays Garkhaan and loves getting stuck in. How do we resolve the following situation.

Garkhaan wades into two storm troopers. One already has 2 damage. Garkhaan rolls say 2damage and 3 surges.

We played it so that Garkhaans mighty swing killed the targetted damaged storm trooper ( may have rolled 1 defence) and then cleaved through his body dealing 3 damage to the one standing adjacent, thus killing the second.

Is that right?

I'm not sure I understand the situation you're describing. If Gaarkhan attacks, does damage, and rolls a surge he can trigger Cleave to do whatever amount of damage is listed by Cleave for example Cleave 1 which means choose another figure that is a valid target for that attack (in Gaarkhan's case a Melee attack so the Stormtrooper being cleaved must be adjacent to Gaarkhan) to suffer 1 damage.

Edited by MikeNYHC

All the damage goes to the target you declare at the beginning of the attack. Cleave let's you then do an amount of damage to another valid target for the amount listed next to the Cleave keyword. Cleave 1 does 1 damage. Cleave 2 does two damage. Also, you can only trigger each surge ability once.

...3 surges...then cleaved through his body dealing 3 damage to the one standing adjacent, thus killing the second.

Judging by this, I’m guessing you’re wondering if you can trigger the “cleave 1” ability 3 times because the Gaarkhan player rolled 3 surges.

And the answer is no, each surge ability can only be triggered once (rules reference guide, page 24).

EDIT: what neosmagus said :P

Friendly reminder when you have excess surges: you can spend 1 surge to recover 1 strain (another ability you can only use once per attack)

Edited by Armandhammer

Friendly reminder when you have excess surges: you can spend 1 surge to recover 1 strain (another ability you can only use once per attack)

Just for clarity, you can only do this during the campaign. The OP mentioned playing "skirmish" games, so I'm not sure if they're playing the campaign with their son or playing skirmish matches. :)

Friendly reminder when you have excess surges: you can spend 1 surge to recover 1 strain (another ability you can only use once per attack)

Just for clarity, you can only do this during the campaign. The OP mentioned playing "skirmish" games, so I'm not sure if they're playing the campaign with their son or playing skirmish matches. :)

Good call!

I assumed campaign because Gaarkhan's skirmish deployment card doesn't an option to cleave.

Edited by Armandhammer

Good call!

I assumed campaign because Gaarkhan's skirmish deployment card doesn't an option to cleave.

And now you can tell I've never played skirmish! :P

Thanks for the clear answers folks,

Yes we are playing the campaign.

I was thinking along the lines that Garkhaan takes a swing which had (I can't recall the right physics term but I will call it) momentum. So say I rolled 2 hits and 2 surges, cleaving meant that one would be used up on the targetted st and the other hit and two surges were used on the adjacent st.

I now understand that the 3 hits get used against the target but a surge allows me to inflict +1 damage to an adjacent. A surge "skill" can only be used once, except for left overs which can recover strain.

Cheers.

All surge abilities can only be used once, unless otherwise specified. That includes being able to recover strain, you can only use one surge for that. Some characters might have the same surge ability listed twice... for example: Surge +1 damage, Surge +1 damage. You can still only use each once, but they're classified as two distinct abilities, so effectively you get to use the ability "twice".

Hi.

Quick question- thins like splash and cleave on items- like terminals, door- do they have damage reduction applied??

You don't defend agains blast, cleave, Shock Grenades or C22 Frag Grenade because they are not attacks whether you're a figure or an object.

See Cleave and Blast from the Rules Reference Guide.