When Diala, with xp special card dancing with sword, throw a close combat weapon with cleave, is it working to cleave a distant new target? how it'is working about line of sight (needing I suppose), range, ...
Can I cleave a range attack?
*Corrected answer below
Edited by DarkJodo
thanks, TWICE
Cleave applies after the attack resolves, so your new target will have to be a legal melee target, that is adjacent to your original target that got cleaved. You no longer have the ranged attack any more.
We’ve always played it like you can cleave any target that you have LOS to and enough accuracy to reach the chosen target (what was rolled during the initial throw).
DarkJodo’s ruling is sound, though I’d argue that there is no mention that cleave occurs “after the attack resolves” under the Cleave heading on page 8.
There was a discussion about this awhile back where I even posted a diagram and a member supposedly asked FFG directly about it:
EDIT:
Further posts that agree you can cleave with a ranged weapon:
https://www.reddit.com/r/ImperialAssaultTMG/comments/3i6el6/diala_dancing_weapon_cleave/
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1472342/dancing-weapon-and-shu-shin-lightsaber-cleave
Edited by Armandhammer
Yes, you can cleave with a ranged weapon (specifically, Diala's Dancing Weapon), but note that the Cleave target does not have to be adjacent to the original target, merely an "eligible target". Dancing weapon is actually performing a RANGED attack with a melee weapon.
The way we have been playing this is that the Cleave damage can be applied to any target Diala could have hit with her original ranged attack (counting accuracy and LOS).
Fizz is correct.
For example: If you rolled an Accuracy of 5 and had a surge on your Dancing Weapon attack, after your original target took the attack's damage, you could designate any hostile figure within range 5 that you have LOS to and have them take the Cleave damage.
Aren't targets chosen before dice are rolled? Isn't a legal target for a ranged attack any figure in LOS? You don't need rolled accuracy to declare the target of a ranged attack, so why does the accuracy matter for cleave?
Aren't targets chosen before dice are rolled? Isn't a legal target for a ranged attack any figure in LOS? You don't need rolled accuracy to declare the target of a ranged attack, so why does the accuracy matter for cleave?
Because you don't declare a Cleave target until after you know Cleave will trigger.
Cleave applies after the attack resolves, so your new target will have to be a legal melee target, that is adjacent to your original target that got cleaved. You no longer have the ranged attack any more.
Incorrect.
Cleave damage is done after dice are rolled, but the surge is spent during the attack. The range/accuracy is still valid.
You can cleave anything within the range/accuracy you rolled.
I asked this previously and got this from the game designer (Justin):
The answer to your question is a bit tricky due to some various ability interactions, so it has to be a bit of a complex answer:
It is possible for Ranged weapons (and thus Dancing Weapon) to make use of a Cleave ability for Ranged weapons, target eligibility is based upon having enough accuracy and being within line of sight.
Now, this does raise the question of if that means that Cleave is based upon the attack currently being made, and the answer is yes. However, because some strange situations can arise out of certain targeting restrictions placed upon particular attacks (such as Brutal Cleave), utilizing Cleave ignores those particular restrictions.
Edited by jnad83