If using focus either attacking or defense and you roll your dice to use the focus does the icon change all the dice to what ever you want?
Focus question
I think your asking either
"When you roll attack or defense dice and then spend a focus how many dice can you change?"
Or
"When you roll attack or defense dice and then spend a focus can you change the eyeballs to any result?"
Is it one of those 2?
The answer to either is
When you spend a focus token you change ALL the eyeball icons to filled in explosions (on attack dice) or evade symbols (on defense dice).
You choose to use your focus token after you roll either attack or defense dice in the appropriate modify step. The use of the token changes all eyeball results to hits (for attack dice) or evades (for defense dice).
Hah!
I was sure I was going to be the one to get ninja'd on this one.
So you place the token after you either attack or defend? I thought it was before according to how I understood the rules
After you roll the appropriate dice, you can then decide if you want to use your Focus token to modify your roll. Part of your question, I think, revolves around understanding the Attack phase and what happens when:
Declare Target
Roll Attack Dice
Modify Attack Dice
>Defender modifies attack dice
>Attacker modifies attack dice (you can choose to use your Focus token here as attacker to change all of your <eyeball> rolls to Hit results)
Roll Defense Dice
Modify Defense Dice
>Attacker modifies defense dice
>Defender modifies defense dice (you can choose to use your Focus token here as defender to change all of your <eyeball> rolls to Evade results)
Compare Results
Deal Damage
There's a lot more that can happen during the Modify steps. All of these steps are fully explained on pages 4 and 5 of the Rules Reference Guide. Other modifiers may resolve in here too from other card/pilot/weapon abilities.
You place a focus token when you perform a focus ACTION (is it the fact that they are both named "focus" that causes so much confusion? It sometimes seems like half the people who play get this confused to begin with).
Actions are not tokens and tokens are not actions. Many actions will give you tokens, but you can get those tokens in other ways as well. You (usually) perform a focus ACTION in the activation phase just after the ship moves. That places a token next to the ship. Then, during the combat phase, in the "modify dice" steps, you have the option to spend that token for its effect.
Edited by ForgottenloreOk thank you again guys.