I think Frank and Alex have been spying on us
Inquisitor and Autothrusters
This problem is now solved... No auto thrustets. As per FAQ.
So Autothrusters got a buff against all other ships except the Inquisitor, who now laughs them away. They changed the text on the card quite a bit, are new-errata versions going to be in the tournament kits?
Autothrusters has been rephrased to work on attack range such that the Inquisitor can laugh in its face. Ambiguity annihilated, situation resolved.
Just saying, I pointed out the actual problem of incomplete wording back in like page four of this thread or something, and had a basic framework laid out of the change.
I take a moment for myself. Bow down, bow down, bow down! Okay STOP! that's enough. -Happy Feet
OK, just to tidy this up, I have received a couple of emails from Frank to the following effect:
Autothrusters definitely does not use the attack range, it uses range in arc. The reference to Autothrusters using attack range in the clarification for The Inquisitor is an error.
However, despite Autothrusters depending on range in arc and The Inquisitor affecting attack range, The Inquisitor still stops Autothrusters from triggering.
OK, just to tidy this up, I have received a couple of emails from Frank to the following effect:
Autothrusters definitely does not use the attack range, it uses range in arc. The reference to Autothrusters using attack range in the clarification for The Inquisitor is an error.
However, despite Autothrusters depending on range in arc and The Inquisitor affecting attack range, The Inquisitor still stops Autothrusters from triggering.
Actually, that is right, the Autothrusters errata doesn't say anything specifically about the range of the attack... So the Inquisitor just ignores Autothrusters because...? Can we get a transcript of the emails?
Sure, if I can format it from my phone...
In v4.1.1 of the X-Wing FAQ, The Inquisitor clarification says "Autothrusters now reference the specific range of the attack". However, the Autothrusters errata says "if you are inside the attacker’s firing arc beyond range 2". The range of the attack is not the range inside the attack's firing arc, as clarified by the new section "Inside arc at range x". Which rule is correct here?
Ignore the reference to “Autothrusters now reference the specific range of the attack.” The “Inside Arc at Range X” is correct.
If Autothrusters only depends on the range in arc (not the attack range), and if The Inquisitor only affects the attack range (not the new range in arc measurement), does The Inquisitor still cancel Autothrusters on a range-3-in-arc primary attack?
Yes. The Inquisitor prevents Autothrusters from triggering against his attacks. The only real other effects are the defender does not roll an additional die when defending at Range 3 and he always rolls the additional attack die (as though we was at Range 1).