Autothrusters is clearly worded so it is you that must be beyond Range 2 of the attack.
If it was clear , no-one would be arguing in this thread, no-one would have asked Frank for a clarification, and Frank would not have written to say that as written it means beyond range 2 of the ship .
Let's try another exercise.
...
Not B = Not beyond Range 2 of attack = At Range 1-2 of attack
If we're going to have an exercise in formal logic, can we start from the premises as ruled by the games designer, rather than the premises as you'd like them to be?
So Not trigger = inside firing arc and at Range 1-2 of attack.
This is exactly what the FAQ for Autothrusters tells you.
As another exercise in formal logic, there is a difference between "if" and "if and only if". The FAQS says Autothrusters does not trigger if the ship equipped with autothrusters is inside the attacker’s primary or auxiliary firing arc at range 1–2.
It does not say "if and only if". This means there can be other conditions where it does not trigger, such as "you are not beyond range 2".
Unfortunately we now have a mail from Frank where he is disputing his own ruling in the FAQ.
We have an email from Frank which does not explicitly contradict the FAQ, but clarifies it further.